Stevens County, WashingtonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Stevens County
Long Lake Dam, Stevens County, Washington State.


Guide to Stevens County, Washington genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records, since 1863, when the county was formed.

County QuickStart:


800px-Flag map of Washington.svg.png Washington
Online Records
Stevens County, Washington
Map
Map of Washington highlighting Stevens County
Location in the state of Washington
Map of the U.S. highlighting Washington
Location of Washington in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 20, 1863
County Seat Colville
Courthouse
Address Located in Colville (originally founded at Pinkney City)
Courthouse Stevens County Courthouse
215 S. Oak
Colville, WA 99114
Stevens County Website

Contents

County Overview

Parent County(s)

Stevens County, Washington was created 20 January 1863 from Walla Walla County.[1]

County Seat: Colville [2]. See also Towns and Communities in Stevens County, Washington. For Courthouse, see Archives, libraries, etc.

Boundary Changes

Neighboring Counties

Stevens County, Washington is surrounded by: Ferry (west) | Lincoln (southwest) | Pend Oreille (east) | Spokane (south) | British Columbia (north)

Stevens County, WashingtonPend Oreille County, WashingtonSpokane County, WashingtonLincoln County, WashingtonFerry County, WashingtonBritish ColumbiaStevens County.JPG

Dates of Major County Records

Note: The dates you see below have not yet been adapted to Stevens County, Washington.

Beginning dates for major county records[4]
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1891*
1859*
1891*
1862
1887
1882
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Topics

The topics or headings on this page describe records that are used for genealogy and family history. They include links to web sites with indexes, images, or information about the county.

Bible Records

 

Biography

Biographical information is often found in state and local histories or genealogies. See also Washington Biography.

Business and Commerce

 

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information. Tombstones, sextons (caretakers) records, and burial records each have slightly different information. See Washington Cemeteries.



Crossroads on the Columbia List of Cemeteries

Query cemeteries in the neighboring counties of Ferry, Pend Oreille, and Spokane, for additional burial locations.

Stevens County, Washington cemeteries from state and national resources
Online County-wide Name Searches
Published Grave
Transcripts
Lists of Cemeteries
(Several will also link to names)
FindAGrave (Add a name to the search) FamilySearch Library Click Cemeteries. Press space bar to select town FindAGrave
WA State Archives - Digital Collections Click any cemetery for search window, select county, enter name(s). WorldCat Interment.net
Billion Graves Switch to "Person Lookup" Washington Periodicals Washington State Digital Archives Put county name in Search box
Linkpendium
Billion Graves
USGenWeb Tombstone Project
Genealogy Trails
See Washington Cemeteries for details about these and other sites.

Census

Federal Census Contents
Names, ages, birthplaces 1850–1940
Birthplaces of parents 1880–1940
Relationships 1880–1940
Family and Neighbors All years
Immigration year 1900–1930
Citizenship 1910–1940

Censuses 1) Give names, ages, and more about the family; 2) Pinpoint the area to find other records; and 3) Provide clues for further research.




Church Records

The information church records provide depends upon the church practices and the record keepers. Records may include names, ages, and dates of events such as baptism, marriage, or burial. See Washington Church Records.

  • Church records (microfilmed originals or published transcripts) for Stevens County, Washington are listed in the FamilySearch catalog. (Press space bar to select town.)

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Colville 260 E. Juniper, Colville, WA 99114.

Court Records

Your ancestors may be found in court records as defendants, plaintiffs, witnesses, or jurors. Court records can clarify family relationships, places of residence, occupations, and family history. See Washington Court Records for courts used through the years.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
For specialized court records, see Divorce  · Guardianship  · Land  · Naturalization · Probate

1885–1889 Stevens County Court Case Index is available at the Washington State Digital Archives

  • Court Records1882-1983 Part of: County Records, 1856-2009 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • See what genealogical information may be in these records.
    • Includes Appearance docket 1896-1962; District and Superior Court records 1889-1892; District Court records 1882-1889; Miscellaneous court records 1977-1983.
  • Stevens Frontier Justice. Part of "Frontier Justice’’: Guide to the Court Records of Washington Territory, 1853-1889 at Washington State Digital Archives. (Free Index, no images)
    • The court procedure of Frontier Justice touch nearly all pioneers of Washington Territory. The index has many abstracts that provide names and what is happening in disputes, settlements in civil and criminal cases as well as probate, equity and admiralty cases.

Directories

 

  • Pacific Coast Directory, 1867 is available at Ancestry.com ($).
  • R.L. Polk's Directory of Stevens County, Washington, 1909-1910, at SCHS.
  • R.L. Polk's Directory of Stevens, Pend Oreille and Ferry Counties 1911-1912 at Crossroads on the Columbia
  • R.L. Polk's Directory of Stevens, Pend Oreille and Ferry Counties 1916-17, at SCHS.
  • Telephone Directories for Stevens, Ferry and Pend Oreille Counties for 1929 and 1930
  • 1932 Interstate Telephone Company directory for Davenport, Reardan, Medical Lake, Hunters, and Kettle Falls is available at Crossroads on the Columbia
  • Other telephone directories available at Crossroads on the Columbia

Emigration and Immigration

 

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

 

American Indian

Many Indian tribes came to the area to fish at Kettle Falls[5]. Colville Indians oversaw the salmon catch at Kettle Falls. The Spokane Tribe and Spokane Indian Reservation is located in southwestern Stevens County. A small group of the Kalispel Tribe lived at Indian Ridge south of Chewelah[6].

Japanese

World War II Files, 1942-1946

Public Welfare/Social Security Department, (Japanese Internment) Assistance Cases, Evacuee Referrals for Resettlement and Assistance, 1945-1946 from the Washington State Archives – Digital Archives

Funeral Homes

 

Gazetteers

 

Genealogy

A FamilySearch Community Tree is available for this place.

Many local libraries and societies have collections of family genealogies. County histories or biographies often include brief genealogies of the featured persons.

Genealogy Research Aids

  • Basic Guide for Genealogy Research in Stevens, Ferry and Pend Oreille Counties by Nancy Wright, Susan DeChant, and Shirley Dodson of NeWGS.

Guardianship

Guardianship of orphans or adults unable to manage their own affairs were handled by the probate and the District courts. See Washington Court Records.

History

Local histories for Stevens County, Washington may include biographies, history of churches, schools, local government with names of officials, military information, and more. See Washington Local Histories.

Land claimed by British and American governments

  • The Heritage Network volunteer, non-profit organization formed to assist heritage groups discover and preserve historical resources within their respective communities in Northeast Washington and British Columbia Canada
  • Numerous local history books are available through Libraries of Stevens County, for purchase from NeWGS and

SCHS. Query World Cat.com for Stevens County (Wash.) History for a list of titles.

History Timeline

See also Historical County Boundaries from Newberry Library[7],

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Wilma, David. Stevens County -- Thumbnail History, History Link.org Essay 7995.

  • 1811 - David Thompson, Northwest Company visited the area bringing in seed to the Marcus area.[8]
  • 1814 - Ross Cox visits the area and local tribes
  • 1818 - With the signing of the Treaty of 1818, British and American jointly claimed the area which includes Stevens County.
  • 1825 - Hudson's Bay Company began construction of Fort Colvile.[9]
  • 1828 - Hudson's Bay Company's Fort Colville existed from 1828 to 1856. A map of the Hudson Bay Company land claims for Fort Colvile and their trappers is available at the Stevens County Historical Society.
  • 1838 - Missionaries Walker and Eells established Tshimakain Mission near present day Ford.[10]
  • 1845 - Catholic missionaries established a mission near Chewelah.[11]
  • 1846 Aug 5 - Oregon Treaty ended border dispute between US and Great Britain[12] creating a border between the two countries along the 49th parallel.
  • 1848 Aug 14 - The U.S. portion was organized as the Oregon Territory
  • 1853 Feb 8 - The Washington Territory was formed February 8, 1853.
  • 1854 Apr 25 - Walla Walla County was created 25 April 1954 from Clark County and Skamania County. The area included current Stevens County.[13]
  • 1856 - Prior to 1856, the Hudson's Bay Company controlled most of the land in what is now Stevens County. Their records are available through The Manitoba Archives and The National Archives (UK). Map showing HBC Fort Colvile holdings at Crossroads on the Columbia.
  • 1858 Jan 29 - Spokane County (including current area of Stevens County) was created from Walla Walla County. [14]
  • 1858 - A gold strike in British Columbia brought miners through the area, which triggered unrest with the local Indians and started the Indian War of 1858.
  • 1859 - Harney's Depot, US Army Fort Colville established along with Pinkney City and the first post office; Fort Walla Walla Fort Colville Military (Wagon) Road built by Brevet Major Pinkney Lugenbeel and U.S. Army soldiers.[15]
  • 1859 - U. S. Northwest Boundary Commission moved to Pinkney City and the British Boundary Commission moved to Marcus for their respective portions of the boundary survey from Port Roberts to the summit of the Rocky Mountains. [16]
  • 1860 - Spokane County seat was located near Pinkney City.[17]
  • 1863 Jan 20 - Stevens County was created. It covered current Okanogan and Ferry Counties and the portion of current Stevens County between the Kettle River and Columbia River.[18]
  • 1864 Jan 19 - Spokane County was disorganized and placed under Stevens County. County went from summit of Cascade Mountains to the Wenachee River, to the Columbia River, along the Snake River, to the Idaho Territory, then up to the 49th parallel. [19]
  • 1871 - Hudson's Bay Company Fort Colvile ended its occupation[20]
  • 1879 - Spokane County broken off from Stevens County
  • 1881 - 1st Lt Thomas Symons examinated the Columbia River and reported on its navigability.
  • 1882 - US Fort Colville disbanded.[21]
  • 1889 Nov 11 - Washington State was formed November 11, 1889.
  • 1892-1893 - The railroad was completed in 1892-93.[22]
  • 1899 Feb 21 - Ferry County was created from Stevens County.[23]
  • 1909-1910 - Colville River dredged opening up agriculture in the area
  • 1911 Mar 1 - Pend Oreille County was created bringing us to what is Stevens County today.[24]

Land and Property

Land Records reveal
Yes or Maybe  Y  M
Seller (Grantor) Green check.png  
Seller's Spouse Green check.png  
Buyer (Grantee) Green check.png  
Heirs   Green check.png
Witnesses Green check.png  
Land Description and Dates Green check.png  
Tips -or- Land Contents

Land records (especially deeds) may give the name of a spouse, heirs, and witnesses, who may be relatives or in-laws.

County deeds, mortgages, and leases show transfers from person to person. See also Court Records for actions involving real estate. See Washington Land for government-to-person records.

Stevens County Auditor's Office land records start 1862. Earliest land records were recorded under the Preemption Art of 1841. All the county land records have been digitized and available upon request.

Original homestead records are available at the Bureau of Land Management Federal Land Records Website. The first general land office patent listed on this website was granted May 1884.
To view a Township, Range, Section map within Stevens County *Go to the Stevens County Assessor's website *Look for Parcel Information on Assessor's/Treasurer's Site" and click on it. Agree to the terms of use, click on "I Agree" at least twice when first using this feature. *Enter a parcel number, legal description, or address. In Mapsifter, zoom in close enough to see the blue lines indicating property lines. If not sure of the specific Township/Range, Parcel number, or legal description, click on the Mapsifter tab and it will call up a map of the county. Click on it and then either use the mouse or the control device on the bottom right to zoom and move about the map. These records are current to five years back and provide a lot of detail about the property and current owners.

Bureau of Land Managment General Land Records Office has an explanation of the township/range system, as does Wikipedia;as well as Family Search Wiki.

The BLM also has Cadastral and other survey information at Oregon and Washington Land Status and Cadastral Record, please note this is separate from the survey dropdown on the main glorecords.blm.gov page. To aid in search, the northwest corner of the county is in township 40N Range 36E; the northeast corner is township 40N range 42E; the southwest corner is township 28N range 35E; and the southeast corner is in township 27N range 42E. Per the records clerk at the BLM Spokane Office (Fancher Road) they have NARA microfilms of the railroad land transactions for their assigned area to include Stevens County. Convert latitude and longitude of the desired location to township/range using the converter at Earthpoint.

  • Land and Property 1860-1984 Part of: County Records, 1856-2009 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • See what genealogical information may be in these records.
    • Includes Chattel mortgage index 1886-1984; Inventory of separate property of women 1887-1904; Miscellaneous clerk records 1860-1976.

Maps

 

Wastevens.jpg
This map highlights the county within the state of Washington. The map soon will have inter-active links.

  • Historic USGS topographical maps. The 1941 maps along the Columbia River show the river and towns prior to Lake Roosevelt forming as well as the lake after it forms.
  • 1880 map of Oregon & Washington Territory, issued by the Oregon Railway and Navigation Co. is available at Ancestry.com$
  • 1890 map of the Northern Pacific Railroad Company including Eastern Washington is available at Ancestry.com$
  • 1910 Map of the Spokane Indian Reservation is available at Ancestry.com$

Atlases, Gazetteers, Maps held by Stevens County Historical Society

  • Two early County Engineer's maps
  • Undated early partly platted lower British Columbia, Columbia River
  • 1810-1871 coast to coast territory covered by artist Paul Kane for Hudson Bay
  • 1863 state map showing which areas have been surveyed
  • 1863 county map showing place names
  • 1870 Colville and north end
  • 1870-1883 Colville area, shows cemeteries, etc.
  • 1887 survey of military Fort Colville
  • 1890 two sections of Meyers Falls
  • 1903 Colville area, shows cemeteries, etc
  • 1910 railroad map, Stevens and Bonner County, Idaho
  • 1911 section map
  • 1912 Original Triplicate Copy of the Northwesten Mutual Fire Association, Seattle Washington (Sanborn Maps) for Colville with viewable corrections.
  • 1929 Original Triplicate Copy of the Northwesten Mutual Fire Association, Seattle Washington (Sanborn Maps) Northport with viewable corrections.
  • 1952 county topography map
  • 1963 Metsker's book of maps
  • Original Stevens County plat maps (complete collection)
  • Colville region topography
  • Old Colville City map
  • City of Colville
  • Map of Kettle Falls
  • Sanborn Insurnance Maps (shows buildings)
  • State Highway Map

Migration

Most residents came to Washington from other states or crossed the border from Canada. (See Seattle Passenger Lists for those who came from other countries.) Although few other migration records exist, try:

Censuses (use birthdates and places of children as clues)
Land (1st deed may reveal previous residence)
Death-related records of children may give town or county of birth
• Records of relatives and neighbors

Military

 

The Washington State Department of Military Museum details the formation and history of the territorial militia and national guard units in seven pdf files.

Fort Colville, located three miles northeast of the current City of Colville, was established June 20, 1859. Initial troops were from the Company A and Company E of the Ninth Infantry under command of Capt. Pinkney Lugenbeel. U.S. Fort Colville was ordered closed September 20, 1882.

More information about the U.S. troops and members of the American Border Commission is available in Colville Collection Book Two: Military Fort Colville by Patrick J. Graham A history of Military Fort Colville (1859-1882) including its officers, and historical manuscripts of events of that period in Colville and northeastern Washington. ....169 pages plus index. Book is available at NeWGS

A report to Congress regarding expenditures of the Northwest Boundary Commission details all the vendors throughout the Northwest Territory for items and services purchased and employees from 1857 to 1869. Another version is available on Google Books, search for 40th Congress 3d Session House of Representatives Ex. Doc No. 86 Northwest Boundary Commission. Colville Valley merchants and farmers provided support to the commission.

Civil War Veterans Buried in Stevens County by Roger W. May Information on almost 300 veterans who are buried in or have lived in Stevens County ….219 pages with 217 photos. Book is available at NeWGS

"World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from Washington" at the National Archives. Query for the exact title; go to the Digital Copies tab, and page through to Stevens County to view those service members who died during WWII.

Stevens County Vietnam War Casualties at USGenWeb.

  • Military Records 1892-1928 Part of: County Records, 1856-2009 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • See what genealogical information may be in these records.
    • Includes Certificates of adjustment for veterans 1925-1928; Military register 1892-1893.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Declarations of Intent before 1906 often include the nation of origin, his* foreign and "Americanized" names, residence, and date of arrival. See Washington Naturalization and Citizenship for more information.     *Women were not naturalized until 1922 in the United States.

  • Naturalization and Citizenship 1868-1950 Part of: County Records, 1856-2009 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • See what genealogical information may be in these records.
    • Includes Affidavits of petitioner and witnesses 1868-1906; Declarations of intention 1886-1946; Declarations of intention, petition evidence 1885-1946; Naturalization index 1882-1907; Petition evidence, special naturalizations, orders of the court 1914-1950; Petitions for naturalization 1888-1951; Petitions for naturalization and petition evidence 1890-1929.

Newspapers

Small town newspapers provide historical content and contain obituaries, birth or death notices, legal notices, and community news, such as visits to or from out-of-town relatives. See Washington Newspapers for tips, resources, and details.

Finding More Washington Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stevens County, Washington newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
  • Do a search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog. To select a county in Washington, add a comma, slide way down to the county list, then click Search. (Almost every state seems to have a Washington County)
  • The Statesman-Examiner is published weekly in Colville. Precursors to this newspaper, the Colville Republican, Stevens County Standard, the Colville Index, and the Stevens County Statesman-Index for the 1892 to 1897 time frame are available in pdf format at Crossroads on the Columbia items 12945 to 13949.
  • The Chewelah Independent has been published weekly since 1903. Microfilms of the newspaper up to 1960 are available at the Kettle Falls Public Library. The Chewelah Public Library has digital copies of the newpaper from 2010 to current.

Obituaries

Obituaries may mention birth, marriage, spouse, parents, living family members, education, occupation, and more. See Washington Obituaries for state level collections and United States Obituaries for tips and insights.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: NewspapersLibrariesSocietiesFuneral Homes • Obituaries of neighboring counties or of the person's previous residence • Family records.

Also check:

The Stevens County Historical Society and the Northeast Washington Genealogical Society maintain separate newspaper obituary lists for deaths recorded for Stevens County-connected individuals. The Loon Lake Historical Society maintains obituary listings for the Loon Lake and Deer Lake area residents.

Periodicals

 

The Northeast Washington Genealogical Society (NeWGS) publication, Pioneer Branches is available at the Colville Public Library (part of the Libraries of Stevens County), Allen County Public Library, and through the society. Indexes are available on Persi from 1986 to 2007.

Probate Records

Probate records identify heirs of the decedents, give the (approximate) death dates, and provide specifics about property holdings. The records were kept by the county judge.

These include wills, inheritance records, dockets, and other documents regarding property and estates of individuals who have died. See also Court Records for civil actions involving estates. Also see Washington Probate Records.

Stevens County Probate records are available at the courthouse. Authorized members of the NeWGS can research microfilms of these records.

Public Records

Public records are documents created by civil authorities that either don't fit comfortably in another topic, or that could fit in several topics.

Schools

 

All schools in Stevens County are under the Northeast Washington Educational Service District 101 located at Regal Center 4202 S. Regal Street, Spokane, WA 99223-7738, phone number (p.) 509-789-3800

  • ESD 101 records at the Washington State Archives at Cheney include item EA801-36-14 Pioneer Interviews (Stevens County) for 1933-47; item EA801-36-1 School Census (Stevens County) school census records for 1915-32, and other early school records. The Digital Archives also has a 1927 Spokane County School District map.
  • The Stevens County Historical Society (SCHS) has the October 1897 to June 1904 bound ledger record of teachers' contracts.
  • SCHS has the August 1891 to 1901 School District No. 32, Pleasant Valley Pupil Attendence Binder.
  • SCHS has the School District No. 2 Colville Schools Board of Director Minutes, May 15, 1903 – April 8, 1920

Online Catalogs

Digital Collections

Taxation

Washington tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Washington Taxation.

The SCHS has the county assessor's personal property tax ledgers for 1898 to 1906, 1912 to 1935, and 1931 to 1935. Images of the 1898 to 1906 ledgers are viewable on the Crossroads on the Columbia project.

Vital Records

The county auditors in Washington kept records of birth, marriage, and death. The county clerk has the divorce records - the earliest dates to the present.

See Washington Vital Records for details and history of the records. . See also How to order Washington Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Washington Birth or Death Certificate and Marriage or Divorce Certificate Applications to mail.

Birth
Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name Green check.png  
Parent's Ages   Green check.png
Parents' State or Country of Birth Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1891, coroners, physicians, and midwives were to "return" births and deaths to the county auditor. Many went unrecorded. In 1907, the State Center for Health Statistics assumed this responsibility.[25]

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See Washington Online Genealogy Records for indexes.
Also see Washington Birth Records.

  • 1891–1907 and 1907-1919 Washington State Births are available at Ancestry.com$

For earlier or unrecorded births, search:


Marriage
Marriage Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Date of Marriage or License Green check.png  
Names of Bride and Groom Green check.png  
Ages Green check.png  
Birth Places Green check.png  
Residences Green check.png  
Names of Parents   Green check.png
Husband's Occupation   Green check.png
Witnesses Green check.png  
Minister or Officiator Green check.png  

Marriage records include certificates, marriage returns, license applications or affidavits. Counties kept the records until 1968, when the state took over.


ArrowGreen.svg.png
See Washington Online Genealogy Records for indexes.
Also see Washington Marriage Records.

  • Marriage Records 1885-2002 Part of: County Records, 1856-2009 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • See what genealogical information may be in these records.
    • Includes Marriage affidavits 1886-1939; applications index 1939-2002; certificates & index 1889-1944; certificates 1912-1947; Marriage index-direct 1911-1922; Marriage licenses index-direct Marriage statistics 1911-1939; Marriage records index-direct 1885-1947; Marriage statistics 1891-1939.

Divorce

Divorce records give the names of the parties and may give the date and place of their marriage. See Washington Vital Records for excellent information.

Death
Death Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Deceased Green check.png  
Death Date and Place Green check.png  
Age or Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name Green check.png  
Name of Spouse   Green check.png
Residence Green check.png  
Occupation Green check.png  

In 1891, coroners, physicians and midwives were to report (or return) all births and deaths under their supervision to County Auditors. On July 1, 1907, the State took over....[26]

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See Washington Online Genealogy Records for indexes.
Also see Washington Death Records.

  • 1891–1907 Washington State Deaths are available at Ancestry.com$
  • 1940–1996 Washington State Death Index is available at Ancestry.com$
  • Washington Death Certificates 1907-1960 A free internet index to the 1907-1960 death certificates can be found at FamilySearch Record Search, no images are available. A transcribed death certificate may contain such information as name of the deceased, date and place of death, age, gender, birth date and birth place, mother’s maiden name and name of spouse, place of residence, occupation and certificate numbers.
ArrowGreen.svg.png
"Stevens County is long and narrow, bisected by the Huckleberry Mountains running north and south through the middle.
In the early days, travel was difficult and there were almost no roads. During the winter it was impossible to go very far, so people often did their "marrying" and "burying" in Lincoln County if they lived along the River at the south end of the county. They also went to Spokane County for supplies or to get married.
"The railroad was completed in 1892-93. Lincoln County seat is located in Davenport, WA 99122. The address for the proper office in Rossland is: Vital Record, Court Registry, Box 639, Rossland, B.C. VOG 1YO, phone 604-362-7368."[27]

Voting Registers

 

Websites


Sites with online indexes or images of records
WAGenWeb for Stevens County Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
Northeast Washington Genealogical Society includes Stevens County. Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Washington State Digital Archives Free Includes indexes, some linked to images.
  • Type county name, click Search, then select a collection.
  • Collections were posted to the appropriate headings for this Wiki page in December, 2013.
FamilySearch Historical Collections Free Search indexes or browse images at FamilySearch.org.
  • Click "Last Updated." Collections through December 2013 have been posted to the appropriate topics for this Wiki page.
Sites that search for links pertaining to Stevens County, Washington
Web Sites at RootsWeb - Stevens WA Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free "Stevens County, Washington Facts" (mis-labeled "Stevens County, Alabama Facts")
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Stevens County, Washington
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library (Indiana)
See also local libraries and Washington Archives and Libraries

Archives, Libraries, etc.

  See also a List of Washington Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Resources for Stevens County, Washington are available in libraries, archives, and other repositories at all levels: the town, the county, the state (including universities), and the nation.

Courthouse

Located in Colville (originally founded at Pinkney City)
Courthouse Stevens County Courthouse
215 S. Oak
Colville, WA 99114
Hours: Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Information line: 509-684-7512

Auditor's Office, Room 106, holds records including military discharges (restricted to family only), homesteads, land records from 1862 to now. Land deed records have been digitized, but they are NOT available online. The auditor staff does have digital images of the deeds and can provide them promptly upon request. Land Deed volume D is missing. For Volume D, the indexes may provide basic data like the surname plus initial of the grantor or grantee and an abbreviated land description, but some only direct the person to the actual record. The Auditor's Office can provide copies of marriage licenses although the actual records were transferred to the State Archives at Cheney.

Stevens County Commissioner's Office, 230 East Birch St, Colville, phone 509-684-3751, holds the County Commissioner's minutes.

Check the inventory collection for the Eastern Washington Region of the State Regional Archives at Cheney for many of the older records births and deaths from 1886 on, marriage records, mining patents, mortgage recordings, as these have been moved to the archives for safekeeping.

Court Clerk Office, phone 509-684-7575 holds records for divorce, naturalization, and court cases from 1889. The NeWGS volunteers have permission to access the probate microfilms and can make copies of these records upon request.

Family History Centers


Libraries

Local public libraries—even smaller ones—often have Unique Genealogical Collections that are not online for the area they serve. Many libraries in Washington have an area dedicated to local history and genealogy.


The Libraries of Stevens County, formerly the Stevens County Rural Library District, manages county branches.

Chewelah Public Library, 307 East Clay Ave, Chewelah 99109 Phone: (509) 935-6805
Online Resources:
Unique Collections: Digital copies of recent Chewelah Independent newspapers.
Colville Public Library, 195 South Oak, Colville 99114 Phone: (509) 684-6620
Online Resources:
Unique Collections: Home for the Northeast Washington Genealogical Society books, many local history books, microfilms of Colville Examiner newspapers, U. S. Fort Colville military records, and Washington State Death Index.
Onion Creek Library, 2191 Clugston-Onion Cr. Rd., Colville 99114 Phone: (877) 251-3300
Online Resources:
Unique Collections:
Hunters Public Library, 6209 Columbia River Rd., Hunters 99129 Phone: (509) 233-3016
Online Resources:
Unique Collections:
Kettle Falls Public Library, 605 Meyers St., Kettle Falls 99141 Phone: (509) 738-6817
Online Resources:
Unique Collections: Microfilms of local newspapers and large collection of local history books.
Libraries of Stevens County, 4008 Cedar St., Loon Lake 99148 Phone: (509) 233-9621
Online Resources:
Unique Collections: Links to resources
Loon Lake Library, 4008 Cedar St., Loon Lake 99148 Phone: (509) 233-3016
Online Resources:
Unique Collections:
Lakeside Community Library, 6176 Hwy 291, Nine Mile Falls 99026 Phone: (509) 276-3329
Online Resources:
Unique Collections:
Northport Community Library, 311 Columbia Ave., Northport 99157 Phone: (509) 732-8928
Online Resources:
Unique Collections:
Wellpinit Library Station, , Wellpinit 99040 Phone: (877) 231-5500
Online Resources:
Unique Collections:
Museums

 

Societies

 

Genealogical Societies

  • Northeast Washington Genealogical Society assists those researching in Ferry, Pend Oreille, and Stevens County. Classes and meetings are held the second Wednesday of the month. Mailing address is Northeast Washington Genealogical Society, c/o Colville Public Library, 195 S Oak, Colville, WA 99114.

Historical Societies

  • Loon Lake Historical Society has an extensive collection of photographs, ledgers, loose papers, and family histories for the Loon Lake and Deer Lake areas, and a number of Clayton documents.
  • Stevens County Historical Society at 700 N Wynne St. P.O. Box 25, Colville, WA 99114 maintains the Keller House and Stevens County Museum. Researchers at the museum's Jim McMillan Research and Reference Library provides detailed reports on research requests.

Towns and Communities

See a list of towns and communities in Stevens County per Wikipedia.

References

  1. The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, Fred E. Carver, 1979. Published by the Yakima Valley Genealogical Society and Klickitat County Genealogical Society.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. John H. Long, Atlas of Historical County Boundaries (Chicago: Newberry Library, 2006) online.
  4. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 733-734. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  5. HistoryLink.org Essay 7577
  6. HistoryLink.org Essay 9534
  7. John H. Long, Atlas of Historical County Boundaries (Chicago: Newberry Library, 2006) online.
  8. HistoryLink.org Essay 8677
  9. HistoryLink.org Essay 7993
  10. HistoryLink.org Essay 7204
  11. HistoryLink.org Essay 9534
  12. HistoryLink.org Essay 5247
  13. Washington State Archives p. 716-717.
  14. Washington State Achives, P.621.
  15. HistoryLink.org Essay 7992
  16. Joseph S. Harris and the U. S. Northwest Boundary Commission 1857-61, Streeter, Anne P., Trafford On Demand Publication, 2012.
  17. HistoryLink.org Essay 7995
  18. Washington State Archives. p. 6.
  19. Washington State Archives. p. 70.
  20. HistoryLink.org Essay 7993
  21. HistoryLink.org Essay 7992
  22. Basic Guide for Genealogy Research in Stevens, Ferry and Pend Oreille Counties by Nancy Wright, Susan DeChant, and Shirley Dodson of NeWGS.
  23. Washington State Archives, p. 26-29.
  24. Washington State Archives. p. 98-106.
  25. Washington State Archives - Digital Archives, Birth Records, About this Collection
  26. About Death Records at Washington State Digital Archives.
  27. Basic Guide for Genealogy Research in Stevens, Ferry and Pend Oreille Counties by Nancy Wright, Susan DeChant, and Shirley Dodson of NeWGS.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 February 2014, at 23:04.
  • This page has been accessed 31,603 times.