Stewart County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stewart County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Stewart County

Guide to Stewart County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Stewart County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Stewart County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 23, 1830
County Seat Lumpkin
Courthouse
Address Stewart County Courthouse]
PO Box 157
Lumpkin, GA 31815-0157
Phone: 912.838.6220 
Stewart County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Stewart County Courthouse
PO Box 157
Lumpkin, GA 31815-0157
Phone: 912.838.6220 

Probate Court has birth, death and burial records from 1927, marriage records from 1828 and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from from 1830[1]

Beginning Dates for Stewart County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1828


1830

History

Parent County

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1922 The courthouse at Lumpkin burned 21 April 1922. County records remained safe in fire-proof vaults.[2]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barbour County, Alabama  • Chattahoochee County  • Marion County  • Quitman County  • Randolph County  • Russell County, Alabama  • Webster County

Stewart CountyChattahoochee CountyMuscogee CountyHarris CountyTalbot CountyWebster CountyMarion CountyTaylor CountyMacon CountySchley CountySumter CountyQuitman CountyClay CountyRandolph CountyCalhoun CountyDougherty CountyLee CountyTerrell CountyLee CountyRussell CountyMacon CountyBullock CountyBarbour CountyHenry CountyGAStewart.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Stewart County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gastewart.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Stewart County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Stewart County, Georgia Genealogy:




- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 17th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies I and K
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 31st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and G
- 35th Battalion, Georgia (Confederate), Companies E and G
- 46th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Georgia. 1960. Confederate rosters (reconstructed in 1899). Atlanta [Georgia]: Georgia Department of Archives and History.  film 847787
  • Webster County (Georgia). Superior Court Clerk. 1966. Military records, 1944-1964: confederate muster roll, for Webster and Stewart Counties; World War I service records, compiled under sponsorship of the American Legion and the American Legion Auxiliary by the Veterans Service Office; and discharge records. Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah. film 431391

Naturalization

Newspapers

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $

  • 1828-1870 - Stewart County Marriage Books A1, A2, B, C Index 1828-1870. Batch M713721 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1830-1860 - Stewart County Marriage Index 1830-1860 Georgia Pioneers
  • 1870-1884 - Stewart County Marriage Book C Index 1870-1884. Batch M713722 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1884-1895 - Stewart County Marriage Index 1884-1895. Batch M713723 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stewart County, Georgia. Page 160 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 April 2015, at 14:13.
  • This page has been accessed 7,953 times.