Steyning, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Steyning, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Steyning, Sussex
Steyning St Andrew West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Steyning
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STEYNING (St. Andrew), a market -town and parish, the head of a union, and formerly a representative borough, in the hundred of Steyning, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 24 miles (E. by N.) from Chichester, and 49½ (S. by W.) from London. It stands at the foot of a lofty hill, near the river Adur, over which is a bridge; and consists of one long street, and two smaller ones brauching therefrom: it is supplied with water by a spring. The church consists of the nave of a large cruciform structure, and presents beautiful specimens of the Norman style. The interior was restored in 1831, and is magnificently enriched: at the east end, where the transept intersected, are clusters of columns and arches for supporting the former central tower. The present tower on the west, of more modern date, is of chequered flint and rubble stone, with buttresses at the angles. There is a place of worship for Lady Huntingdon's Connexion.[1]

For church history see Steyning St Andrew

The Parish church of St Andrew has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Steyning Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

list of places of worship in Horsham district Wikipedia

See also Steyning Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Steyning, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Steyning, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1565-1907
1565-1906

IGI 1565-1791 1653-1658
PRTS 1565-1925
1565-1837
1565-1925

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Steyning

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Steyning/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 200-205. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,340 times.