Stoak or Stoke, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Stoke

Guide to Stoak or Stoke, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Stoak or Stoke, Cheshire
Stoak St Lawrence Church.jpg
Stoak St Lawrence Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton; Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

STOAK, iis a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Higher division of the hundred of Wirrall, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the township of Little Stanney, and part of Whitby. The parish comprises, exclusively of Whitby.[1]

Stoak St Lawrence is an Ancient parish in Cheshire and includes Little Stanney.

A Saxon chapel was originally on the site. It was not mentioned in the Domesday Book but fragments of architecture still present in the 19th century showed that a new church must have been built soon after the Norman conquest.

The name may also be spelled Stoke which is the name of the civil parish; the ecclesiastical parish was Stoak.

Stoak is a small village in the civil parish of Stoke, the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester, and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241247.

Church records

Stoak or Stoke St Laurence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Stoak or Stoke St Laurance Parish (1543) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1543-1910
  NONE
1543-1934
  NONE
1543-1889
  NONE
FS BT'S 1607-1848   NONE
1607-1841
  NONE
1607-1848
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Stoke, 1573-1964


Cheshire Record Office reference: P31/1/1-4, P31/2/1-2, P31/3059/1/1-2, P31/3059/2-4, P31/5

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1573-1579, 1601-1690 (Some Latin.) Baptisms, burials, 1690-1812.  Marriages, 1690-1754. BRITISH 2068673 Items 7-10
Marriages, 1754-1964. Banns of marriage, 1824-1918. Baptisms, 1813-1925. Burials, 1813-1889. BRITISH 2068674 Items 1-7

Bishop's transcripts for Stoke, 1607-1848

Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing.

Bishop's transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1835-1841. Baptisms, burials, 1833-1834, 1843-1848. Burials, 1832. BRITISH 1751851 Item 2
Baptisms, 1833, burials, 1832, baptisms, burials, 1833-1834, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1835-1841, baptisms, burials, 1843-1845, baptisms, 1846-1848, burials, 1845-1848 BRITISH 1751852 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Great Boughton (1837–69)
Chester (1870–1937)
West Cheshire (1937–74)
Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 9 April 2013

Bibliography

  • Ormerod, George (1882), The History of the County Palatine and City of Chester (2nd ed.), London: George Routledge and Sons, pp. ii: 387–392
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 305–309
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 175, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 October 2014, at 20:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,536 times.