Stockbury, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Stockbury, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Stockbury, Kent
Stockbury St Mary Magdalene Kent.jpg
Stockbury St Mary Magdalene Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hollingbourne PLU
Registration District Hollingbourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stockbury is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone district of Kent, see Stockbury Wikipedia

Stockbury St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and is one of the six parishes grouped in The Six website a benefice of parishes.

The church of St Mary Magdalene, Church Lane, Stockbury has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 572-585. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. Date accessed at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Hollingbourne registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stockbury, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[5]
Stockbury, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1653-1897
1655-1962
1653-1879
FREG
1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Original deposited registers are held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

01622 694363

Fax: 01622 694379

archives@kent.gov.uk

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Family History Library film numbers
Stockbury
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

Land Tax

Images for Stockbury are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306857.


 

Poor Law Unions

Hollingbourne Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

STOCKBURY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Hollingbourn, hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Sittingbourne. [6]



Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 207-209. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,372 times.