Stockport, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Stockport

Guide to Stockport, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockport St Marys.jpg

Contents

Parish History

STOCKPORT (St. Mary), a newly-enfranchised borough, a market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester; comprising the chapelries of Distley, Dukinfield, Hyde, Marple,Norbury, and Romiley, and the townships ofBramhall, Bredbury, Brinnington,Etchells, Offerton, Stockport,Torkington, and Werneth. The town derived its name Stokeport, or Stockport.

St. Mary's church was mainly re-built in 1817. St. Peter's district church, was built in 1768. The church dedicated to St. Thomas was erected in 1825.  A church district, called St. Matthew, was formed in 1844. An Independent chapel was built in 1866, for Baptists, Wesleyans, the New Connexion of Methodists, the Society of Friends, Primitive and Warrenite Methodists, Unitarians, and the Roman Catholic chapel was built in 1862.

The parish is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of S.-St. Mary, S.-St. Thomas, S.-St. Peter, Bredbury, Disley, Dukinfield, Dukinfield-St. Mark, Dukinfield-St. Matthew, Castle-Hall, High-Lane, Hyde, Hyde-St. Thomas, Marple, Norbury, Portwood, Romiley, Werneth, and Moor.[1] [2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241245.

Church records

Stockport St Mary the Virgin registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Stockport St Mary the Virgin Parish (1584) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1906
1813-1891


FS PR's
1584-1910
 NONE
1584-1934
 NONE
1584-1859
 NONE
FS BT'S
1605-1835
 NONE
1605-1837
 NONE
1617-1877

FMP (£)
  KN
  KN
 KN
 KN
1584-1913
1584-1913
NBI



1584-1913
TGEN 1584-1620
1584-1620
1584-1620

Bramhall registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BRAMHALL Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1814




Stockport Portwood St Paul registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

STOCKPORT PORTWOOD ST PAUL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1851-1971

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers of St. Mary's Church, Stockport, 1584-1901 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P14/1/2-11, P14/2/1-8, P14/3435/2/1-4, P14/4616/1, P14/3435/1, P14/3/1-17, P14/3435/3/1-24, P14/4616/2-3, P14/4/1-5, P14/3790/1-2, P14/4649/1-6, P14/5/1-8, P14/3435/4/1-2.

Parish Registers: St. Mary's Church, Stockport Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1584-1629.
2146002 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1629-1673.
2145836 Items 3 - 4
Baptisms, burials, 1673-Aug. 1770; marriages, 1673-Mar. 1754.
2145837
Baptisms, burials, June 1770-1791. Baptisms, 1792-Sep. 1817.
2145838
Baptisms, Sep. 1817-Mar. 1835.
2146000
Baptisms, Mar. 1835-June 1877.
2146001
Baptisms, June 1877-Feb. 1890.
2146002 Items 1 - 2
Marriages and banns, Apr. 1754-Sep. 1768.
2146002 Item 4
Marriages and banns, Sep. 1768-Oct. 1776. Marriages, Oct. 1776-Oct. 1800.
2146003
Marriages, Oct. 1800-Feb. 1819.
2145993
Marriages, Feb. 1819-Nov. 1837.
2145994
Marriages, Nov. 1837-July 1846.
2146027
Marriages, July 1846-Oct. 1853.
2146028
Marriages, Oct. 1853-Oct. 1860.
2146029
Marriages, Oct. 1860-Nov. 1868.
2146030
Marriages, Nov. 1868-June 1878.
1941827
Marriages, June 1878-July 1892. Marriage banns, Oct. 1788-June 1793; baptisms, 1847-1849.
1941828
Marriage banns, July 1809-May 1812, Feb. 1816-Nov. 1819 (draft registers). Marriage banns, Jan. 1830-Feb. 1835; Oct. 1887-Nov. 1915.
1941829
Marriage banns, Sep. 1928-Feb. 1955, Feb. 1835-July 1852. Burials, 1792-Dec. 1802.
1941830
Burials, Nov. 1802-Nov. 1830.
1941831
Burials, Oct. 1830-Dec. 1859.
1941832 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Stockport, 1605-1844 Microfilm of manuscripts in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.

Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing

Bishops Transcripts: Stockport Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605-1682
1751851 Item 1
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1812-1815, baptisms, marriages, 1816.
1751716 Item 2
Burials, 1816 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1816-1819
1751717
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1819-1822
1751718
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1824
1751719
Burials, 1824 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1825-1827
1751720
Burials, 1827 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1828-1830
1751721
Burials, 1830 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1833
1751722
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, 1839-1840 Baptisms, 1841-1844
1751723

Non-Conformist Churches

Stockport has numerous churches and chapels.  The principal faiths include: 

Stockport, Our Lady and the Apostles (Roman Catholic), Edgeley Road. Founded 1799, rebuilt in 1905.
Stockport, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic), Tatton Street. Founded 1851, the present church was Built in 1862. Registers of baptisms 1862–1912, marriages 1863–1934 and burials 1862–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Michael (Roman Catholic). Registers of baptisms 1851–1895, marriages 1856–1882 and burials 1863–1866 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Ambrose (Roman Catholic), Adswood Road. Founded 1939.
Stockport, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Lower Hillgate. Built in 1705.
Stockport, United Reform Church (Hanover Chapel) (Independent/Congregational). Records of baptisms 1816–1961 are at the Cheshire Record Office. 

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Stockport, but the exact parish has not been identified:

Baptist
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Independent Methodist
Independent/Congregational
Methodist New Connexion
Presbyterian
Presbyterian Unitarian
Primitive Methodist
Roman Catholic
Society of Friends/Quaker
Wesleyan Methodist.

Non-Conformist Church Records:

Baptisms 1797-1837 at Mount Tabor New Connexion Methodist Church, Stockport, Cheshire, U.K.

Stockport Mt. Tabor Methodist baptisms Film
Baptisms 1797-1837 at Mount Tabor New Connexion Methodist Church, Stockport, Cheshire, U.K.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395292

Baptisms at Methodist Church, Hazel Grove, Stockport 1794-1879

Parish Registers: Film
Baptisms, 1794-1879 (2 fiche)
British B2 Access Services 6359349

Wellington Road Congregational Church, Stockport, 1789-1980

Wellington Road Congregational Church, Stockport Film
Item 4 Baptisms 1851-1980 Item 5 Marriages 1870-1940 Item 6 Church roll 1789-1832
1655519 Items 4-6
Church roll 1887-1904
1655520 Item 1

High St. Unitarian Stockport, county of Cheshire, U.K.

Registers of High St. Unitarian Stockport Film
Burials 1785-1837, Stockport (gap Feb. 1799-Jul. 1811)
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395304

Registers of Brunswick Wesleyan Chapel, Stockport, County of Cheshire

Registers of Brunswick Wesleyan Chapel, Stockport Film
Burials, 1848-1954.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6200580

Church records for High Street Presbyterian Chapel, 1761-1798

Church records for High Street Presbyterian Chapel Film
Births, baptisms and burials, 1761-1837.
20050 Items 2-7

Church records for the Morley Society of Friends monthly meetings, 1677-1831 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EFC 1/1-3; EFC 1/10/1-3.

Church records for the Morley Society of Friends Film
Minutes of men's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1677-1722 (includes Stockport, Macclesfield, and Eaton).
2299553 Items 5 - 6
Minutes of men's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1722-1831 (includes Stockport, Macclesfield, and Eaton) (includes removals, admittances to membership and an index). Minutes of women's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages and disbursements to the poor, 1703-1730.
2326889
Minutes of women's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1730-1804.
2299642 Items 1 - 2

Church records for the Stockport Society of Friends preparative meetings, 1694-1910 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EFC 12/5010/8-9.

Church records for the Stockport Society of Friends Film
Burials, 1862-1870. Membership, 1859-1881, 1902, 1910.
2299642 Items 8 - 9
Minutes of mens' meetings, 1694-1803 (includes births, marriages, and deaths).
2299642 Items 12 - 14

Church records, 1709-1837 New Chapel Hillgate Stockport, Independent Church Gate Chapel

Church records New Chapel Hillgate Stockport, Independent Church Gate Chapel Film
Windmill Room, Edward St., 1818-1837 and the Church Gate Chapel or Orchard St., 1788-1837
20050 Items 8-13

Church records, 1812-1837 Caroline Street Chapel Staleybridge, Wesleyan RG-4 series nos. 545, 546, 547.

Church records Caroline Street Chapel Staleybridge, Wesleyan Film
Births, baptisms and burials at Caroline Street Chapel, parish of Dukinfield, 1812-1837.
20051 Items 5-7

Church records, 1816-1958 Congregational Church Cheshire Record Office no.: EUC 3151/56/1-2

Church records Congregational Church Film
Baptisms, 1816-1958.
1736979 Items 3-4

Church records, 1831-1837 Ebenezer Chapel Stockport Primitive Methodist

Church records Ebenezer Chapel Stockport Primitive Methodist Film
Births and baptisms, 1831-1837.
20050 Item 1

Church records, 1840-1908 Society of Friends. Cheshire Monthly Meeting Cheshire Record Office call no.: EFC 12/5010/5-6.

Church records: Society of Friends Cheshire Film
Monthly Meeting Birth notes, 1840-1853, 1892-1908
2000040 Items 4-5

Church records, 1851-1895 Catholic Church. St. Michael's Stockport Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 17/5187/1-6.

Church records: Catholic Church. St. Michael's Stockport Film
Baptisms, 1851-1895 Marriages, 1856-1882 (From 1868 to 1882 marriages are for St. Joseph's Church only.) Burials, 1863-1866
2068254 Items 3-8
Burials, 1866 (from 30 Jan.)
2068255 Item 1

Church records, 1862-1934 Catholic Church. St. Joseph's Stockport Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 16/5186/1-2, 4-10.

Church records: Catholic Church. St. Joseph's Stockport Film
Baptisms, 1862-1889
2068242 Items 3-5
Baptisms, 1898-1912 Marriages, 1863-1868, 1889-1934 (Marriages for 1868-1882 are in St. Michael's Catholic Church, Stockport.) Burials, 1862-1864
2068243
Burials, 1864-1905
2068254 Items 1-2

Church roll for Hanover Congregational Chapel, Stockport, 1847-1893 Microfilm copy of original records in the Stockport Central Library, Stockport, Cheshire, England.

Church roll for Hanover Congregational Chapel, Stockport Film
Item 2 1847-1879 Item 3 1871-1893
1655520 Items 2-3

Hanover Congregational Chapel, Stockport, burials 3 January 1855 to 18 December 1928

An alphabetical list of burials, 1859-1928 recorded in the registers of Stockport, Hanover Congregational Chapel, county of Cheshire Film
Hanover Congregational Chapel, Stockport burials 3 January 1855 to 18 December 1928
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395291

Hillgate Tabernacle Independent Stockport, Cheshire, baptisms 28 Nov 1801-6 Nov 1836

Hillgate Tabernacle Independent Stockport Film
Hilgate Tabernacle (Independent) Stockport baptisms 28 Nov 1801 - 6 Nov 1836
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395302

Monumental inscriptions for Hanover Hill Congregational Chapel, Stockport, 1800's Microfilm copy of original records in the Stockport Central Library, Cheshire, England.

Hanover Hill Congregational Chapel, Stockport Film
Monumental inscriptions for Hanover Hill Congregational Chapel, Stockport, 1800's
1655521 Item 8

Monumental inscriptions for Hillgate Unitarian Chapel and Old Mount Tabor Chapel, Stockport, 1750-1850 Microfilm copy of original records in the Stockport Central Library, Cheshire, England.

Hillgate Unitarian Chapel and Old Mount Tabor Chapel, Stockport Film
Pages 23-34 Hillgate Unitarian inscriptions 1750-1850 Pages 35-63 Mount Tabor inscriptions 1799-1850
1655521 Item 7

Monumental inscriptions for Tiviot Dale Methodist Church,Stockport, 1826-1878 Microfilm copy of original records in the Stockport Central Library, Cheshire, England.

Tiviot Dale Methodist Church,Stockport Film
Monumental inscriptions for Tiviot Dale Methodist Church,Stockport, 1826-1878
1655521 Item 9

New Chapel Independent Church, Stockport, county of Chester burials 1785-1837

New Chapel Independent Church, Stockport Film
Burials 1785-1837 (2 fiches)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British  6212724

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Stockport Branch Record of members, 1839-1913 Microfilm of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Stockport Branch Film
Record of members, 1839-1913
87034 Items 10-11

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Cross Moor Branch Record of members, 1842-1857 Microfilm of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Cross Moor Branch Film
Record of members, 1842-1857
86993 Item 5

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Manchester District Record of members, 1876-1931 Microfilm of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Manchester District Film
Record of members 1893-1902
87017 Item 11
Record of members 1893-1902
87017 Items 14-15
Stockport Branch (with index) 1888-1910 Hanley Branch (with index) 1904-1911 Swinton Branch (with index) 1876-1914 Ratcliffe Branch 1902-1909 Heywood Branch (with index) 1886-1912 Manchester Branch (with index) 1876-1926 Manchester District (with index) 1909-1926 Bury Branch (with index) 1900-1930 Bolton Branch (with index 1884-1928 Leigh Branch (with index) 1881-1919 Chisworth Branch 1882-1912
205633 Item 2
Conference Mission (with index) 1876-1931
205633 Item 3

St. Michael Stockport (Roman Catholic church) county of Cheshire, U.K. : burials 1863-1866

St. Michael Stockport Roman Catholic church Film
Burials 1863-1866 (1 fiche)
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6212725

Stockport Methodist [burials], Mt. Tabor 1798-1832, Bethesda 1833-47

Stockport Methodist, Mt. Tabo r& Bethesda Film
Stockport Methodist [burials], Mt. Tabor 1798-1832, Bethesda 1833-47
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395288

Stockport, Bethesday Independent Methodist Church : baptisms 1797-1903 & burials 1833-1847

Stockport, Bethesday Independent Methodist Church Film
Stockport Bethesday Independent Methodist Church
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395287

Tabernacle Independent Chapel, Stockport, county of Cheshire, burials 15 Nov 1807 to 27 Dec 1836

Tabernacle Independent Chapel, Stockport Film
Burials 15 Nov 1807 to 27 Dec 1836
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395301

Tiviot-Dale Methodist Church Stockport burials 1826-1943

Tiviot-Dale Methodist Church Stockport Film
Tiviot Dale Chapel burials 1826 to 1943
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395303

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1870-72) Adapted 9 April 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 9 April 2013
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - Cheshire Coverage - (Fee)', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

Stockport Parishes

 Stockport St Mary, Cheshire

 Stockport St Peter, Cheshire

 Stockport St Alban,Cheshire

 Stockport St Thomas, Cheshire

 Stockport St Matthew, Cheshire

 Stockport St Saviour, Cheshire

 Stockport (Brinksway) St Augustine, Cheshire

 Stockport St George, Cheshire

 Stockport St Mark,Cheshire

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:02.
  • This page has been accessed 3,014 times.