Stockport St Peter, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Stockport St Peter, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockport St Peter, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport PLU
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1816
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOCKPORT, is a town, a township, a parish, two sub-districts, and a district, in Cheshire. The town stands on the river Mersey at the influx of the Tame, on the North-western railway at a convergence of five branch-lines, it is 5¾ miles SSE of Manchester; it was anciently called Stockfort, Storefort, and Stokeport.   St. Peter's church was built in 1768.

Stockport is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of S.-St. Mary, S.-St. Thomas, S.-St. Peter, Bredbury, Disley, Dukinfield, Dukinfield-St. Mark, Dukinfield-St. Matthew, Castle-Hall, High-Lane, Hyde, Hyde-St. Thomas, Marple, Norbury, Portwood, Romiley, Werneth, and Moor.[1]

Stockport St Peter, St. Peter's Square. Founded 1765 as a chapel to  Stockport St Mary, Cheshire in 1765. It became a parish church in 1838.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Stockport St. Peter chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Stockport St. Peter Chapelry (1765) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP (£)



1816-1935
1816-1935
NBI



1816-1935

Cheshire Record Office Reference P 322  Stockport St Peter Parish records Date 1816-1999 Description Baptism registers 1878-1999; burial registers 1816-1935; confirmation registers 1901-1990; parochial statistics 1882-1905; PCC minutes 1954-1960; Church Union minutes 1915-1981; St Peter's National School managers' minutes 1894-1941; accounts 1903-1950 Parish of St. Peter, Stockport, County of Cheshire, U.K. (Macclesfield Hundred), burials, 14 Jan. 1816 to 9 Oct. 1935

Parish Registers: St Peter Stockport
Film
Burials, 1816-1935.
British B2 Access Services 6200578

A copy of the registers of baptisms in the parish of Saint Peter, Stockport, Cheshire, 1878-1935 Microfilm copy of transcripts in the Stockport Central Library, Cheshire, England.

Parish Registers: Saint Peter, Stockpor Film
Baptisms 1878-1905 Burials 1816-1935
1655626 Items 1-2
Non-Conformist Churches

Not known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Stockport

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps

Websites

Stockport St Peter GENUKI

Stockport on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 8 April 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 19:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,941 times.