Stockport St Thomas, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Stockport St Thomas, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockport St Thomas, Cheshire
St Thomas church Stockport.jpg
St Thomas church Stockport
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport PLU
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1825
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOCKPORT, is a town, a township, a parish, two sub-districts, and a district, in Cheshire. The town stands on the river Mersey at the influx of the Tame, on the North-western railway at a convergence of five branch-lines, it is 5¾ miles SSE of Manchester; it was anciently called Stockfort, Storefort, and Stokeport.   St. Thomas' church was built in 1825.

Stockport is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of S.-St. Mary, S.-St. Thomas, S.-St. Peter, Bredbury, Disley, Dukinfield, Dukinfield-St. Mark, Dukinfield-St. Matthew, Castle-Hall, High-Lane, Hyde, Hyde-St. Thomas, Marple, Norbury, Portwood, Romiley, Werneth, and Moor. The church dedicated to St. Thomas was erected in 1825, by the Parliamentary Commissioners.[1]  [2]

Wellington Road South. Founded 1825 as a chapel to Stockport St Mary, becoming the parish church for Bramhall and parts of Stockport and Stockport Etchells in 1827.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241245.

Church records

Stockport St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
Stockport St Thomas Parish (1837) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1837-1893
  NONE
1875-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1880-1893
  NONE
1875-1895
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FMP (£)    KN
   KN
   KN
   KN
1825-1974
1825-1974

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish of St. Thomas, Stockport, County of Cheshire burials, 17 Dec. 1825 to 8 Nov. 1974 Microfiche of original published: [S.l.] : North Cheshire Family History Society, 1999.

Parish Registers: St. Thomas, Stockport Film
Burials, 1825-1974.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6200579

Parish registers for St. Thomas, Hyde, 1847-1924 Cheshire Record Office no.: P154/1/1-6, P154/2/1-3, P154/3.

Parish Registers: St. Thomas, Hyde Film
Baptisms, 1847-1924. Marriages, 1869-Aug. 1894.
2186938 Items 2 - 8Marriages, Aug. 1894-1919. Burials, 1868-1900.
Marriages, Aug. 1894-1919. Burials, 1868-1900.
2186939 Items 1 - 4

Parish registers of St. Thomas' Church, Stockport, 1837-1948 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P246/3470/1/1-3, P246/4551/1-5, P246/3470/2/1-2.

Parish Registers: St. Thomas' Church, Stockport
Film
Baptisms, 1837-1869.
2105693 Items 15 - 17
Baptisms, 1869-1893. Marriages, 1875-1895. Marriage banns, 1924-1933.
2105694
Marriage banns, 1933-1948. Burials, 1825-1856. Copy burials, 1825-1839.
2105695 Items 1 - 5

A copy of the registers of the parish of Saint Thomas, Stockport, Cheshire, 1837-1974 Microfilm copy of transcripts in the Stockport Central Library, Cheshire, England.

Parish Registers: Saint Thomas, Stockport Film
Baptisms 1837-1866
1655626 Items 3-4
Marriages 1875-1903 Burials 1825-1847
1655627
Burials 1847-1974
1655628 Items 1-2

Bishop's transcripts for St. Thomas' Church, Stockport, 1875-1895 Microfilm of manuscripts in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.

Bishops Transcripts: St. Thomas' Church, Stockport Film
Baptisms, 1880-1893
1751856 Item 2
Marriages, 1875-1891
1751857
Marriages, 1891-1895
1751910 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Stockport has numerous churches and chapels. The principal faiths include: 

Stockport, Our Lady and the Apostles (Roman Catholic), Edgeley Road. Founded 1799, rebuilt in 1905.
Stockport, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic), Tatton Street. Founded 1851, the present church was Built in 1862. Registers of baptisms 1862–1912, marriages 1863–1934 and burials 1862–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Michael (Roman Catholic). Registers of baptisms 1851–1895, marriages 1856–1882 and burials 1863–1866 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Ambrose (Roman Catholic), Adswood Road. Founded 1939.
Stockport, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Lower Hillgate. Built in 1705.
Stockport, United Reform Church (Hanover Chapel) (Independent/Congregational). Records of baptisms 1816–1961 are at the Cheshire Record Office. 

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Stockport

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stockport St Thomas on GENUKI

Stockport on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 8 April 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 8 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 19:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,385 times.