Stockton Heath, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Stockton Heath

Guide to Stockton Heath, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockton Heath St Thomas Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Part of this parish is in Lancashire. See also Stockton Heath, Lancashire.

Parish History

STOCKTON-HEATH, is a village in Great Budworth parish, and a chapelry partly also in Runcorn parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the Bridgewater canal, it is 1 mile South of Warrington railway station; has a post-office under Warrington. The chapelry was constituted in 1838. The church was built in 1826. There is a Methodist chapel.[1]

Stockton Heath is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in the county of Cheshire and partly in Lancashire; created in 1838 from Great Budworth, Cheshire Ancient Parish and  Runcorn, Cheshire Ancient Parish (both Cheshire) and Warrington  Ancient Parish (Lancashire). Stockton Heath is a civil parish and suburban area of the Borough of Warrington in Cheshire, England. It is located to the north of the Bridgewater Canal and to the south of the Manchester Ship Canal, which divides Stockton Heath from Latchford and north Warrington. The civil parish is part of Warrington Unitary authority and it has a Warrington postcode but remains part of the ceremonial county of Cheshire and emergncy services are provided by Cheshire.

Stockton Heath, St. Thomas was founded in 1838 as the parish church for Acton Grange, Appleton (part), Walton Inferior and Walton Superior.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church records

Stockton Heath St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Stockton Heath St Thomas Parish (1838) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1838-1893
  NONE
1841-1934
  NONE
1839-1944
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

St. Thomas' Church, Stockton-Heath parish registers:Cheshire Record Office call no.: P58/1/1-4, P58/3375/2/1-4, P58/3375/3/1-4, P58/3375/4/1-2, P58/3375/12/1-3.

Parish registers from St. Thomas' Church, Stockton-Heath, 1838-1947 Film
Baptisms, 1838-1947. Marriages, 1841-1928.
2106219 Items 2 - 9
Marriages, 1928-1945. Burials, 1839-1944. Register of graves, ca. 1839-1946. Sunday School books, 1833-1879.
2106220 Items 1 - 8

St. Thomas' Church in Stockton-Heath Bishop's transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 189

Bishop's transcripts for St. Thomas' Church in Stockton-Heath, 1838-1844 Film
Baptisms, 1838, baptisms, burials, 1839-1844. 1647671 Item 3

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Baptist
  • Independent Methodist

Non-Conformist records:

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Church records for Stockton-Heath Wesleyan Methodist church, 1888-1962: Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.

Church records for Stockton-Heath Wesleyan Methodist church, 1888-1962 Film
Baptisms, 1888-1962
2000039 Item 8

Providence Chapel (Stockton-Heath, Cheshire : Independent) Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London.

Providence Chapel (Stockton-Heath, Cheshire : Independent) Church records, 1815-1855
Film
Church records
20053 Item 1
Another filming. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
1482409 Item 6

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Runcorn (1897–1974)
Warrington (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Runcorn Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetter of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 8 April 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,320 times.