Stockwith, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Stockwith, Nottinghamshire
East Stockwith St Mary Lincolnshire.jpg
East Stockwith St Mary Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Gainsborough PLU
Registration District Gainsborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1867; For more records see Misterton
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1800 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York Post-1799 - Court of the Manor of Gringley-on-the-Hill or Bawtry
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

STOCKWITH, WEST, a chapelry, in the parish of Misterton, union of Gainsborough, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from Gainsborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Stockwith was a chapelry of Misterton, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish. It includes within its boundary Heckdike and forms part of the county boundary with Lincolnshire neighbours East Stockwith with Walkerwith, Lincolnshire and Owston, Lincolnshire.

Church history West Stockwith St Mary the Blessed Virgin

The church of St Mary the Virgin which dates from 1722 has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also West Stockwith Wikipedia

On the opposite bank of the River Trent lies East Stockwith; the ferry across the River Trent ended in 1953 East Stockwith Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stockwith

Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupations

Chesterfield Canal Boat Registers. A register of all Boats, Barges and other Vessels used on navigable rivers and inland Navigation, and number of men employed on board, 1795 listing for Chesterfield Canal, Co. Derby to Rivert Trent at or near Stockwith, Nottinghamshire, with an alphabetical listing at the end, dating from 1795-1877, avaliable in Nottinghamshire Family History Society vol. 110, pages 1-105, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Gainsborough Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 17:26.
  • This page has been accessed 741 times.