Stoke, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Stoke, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Stoke, Kent
Stoke St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Stoke St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hoo PLU
Registration District Hoo
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stoke St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish on the Hoo peninsula in the Medway district of Kent. Hoo Peninsula Wikipedia The parish is in the Diocese of Rochester.

The church is Norman 12th century with additions and restoration in subsequent centuries and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage.British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 34-45. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The village and civil parish of Stoke includes Stoke (sometimes Upper Stoke) and Little Stoke and is a low lying area of channels and small islands which is prone to flooding and is an area of farmland and wading birds.Stoke Kent Wikipedia

See Stoke North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship and Stoke St Peter and St Paul

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Hoo sub district Chatham Registration District

and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stoke, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[5]
Stoke, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
1718-1812

FREG 1666-1906
1666-1963
1666-1892
FS BTs 1718-1829 1718-1829 1718-1829
IGI 1575-1829 1573-1828
MED 1666-1906 1666-1906 1666-1906

International Genealogical Index Batch Numbers

  • Christenings 1575-1723 (Extracts); 1666-1829 Batches (C044581, C044583, C044584)
  • Marriages 1573-1712 (Extracts); 1666-1828 Batches(M044581-M044584)

Land Tax

Images for Stoke are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832


Census records

Census returns for Stoke 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hoo Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

STOKE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoo, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 8½ miles (N. E.) from Rochester. [6]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  5. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 215-217. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,593 times.