Stoke Bliss, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Stoke Bliss, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

For more information and records see Stoke Bliss, Worcestershire.

Stoke Bliss, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxash; Doddingtree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Tenbury PLU
Registration District Tenbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History

STOKE-BLISS, is a parish, in the union of Tenbury, partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Worcester and W. divisions of the county of Worcester. Butchiefly in the hundred of Broxash, and the county of Hereford, 6 miles (S. E.) from Tenbury. It contains the chapelry of Little Kyre, in the Stoke-Bliss township. The parish is situated on the road from Tenbury to Bromyard. The church is in the early English style. [1]


Stokes Bliss is an ancient parish partly in Herefordshire and partly in Worcestershire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464205.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/StokeBliss/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 215-217. Accessed and adapted 24 April, 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 728 times.