Stoke Canon, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stoke Canon, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Stoke Canon, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stoke Canon, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1615
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

STOKE-CANNON (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of Wonford, Wonford and S. divisions of Devon, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Exeter.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stoke Canon, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Stoke Canon, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

IGI 1608-1837 1600s
Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241330.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Stoke Canon on GENUKI


  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 3 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 November 2015, at 19:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,963 times.