Stoke D'Abernon, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Stoke D'Abernon, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stoke D'Abernon, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elmbridge
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Epsom PLU
Registration District Epsom
Records begin
Parish registers: 1619
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOKE-D'ABERNON, a parish, with S. village and Oxshot hamlet, in Epsom district, Surrey; on the river Mole, 3 miles NW of Leatherhead r. station.[1]

Resources

Church records

Online Stoke D'Abernon, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1619
1620
1619
Indexes 1619-1812 UKGenealogy
Archives
1620-1812 UKGenealogy
Archives
1619-1812 UKGenealogy
Archives
1619-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks 1620-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks 1619-1812 FamilyHistoryBooks
1619-1876 FamilySearch[2] 1620-1877 FamilySearch[3] 1619-1865 FindMyPast[4]
1620-1775 FindMyPast[5]
1780-1812 Ancestry[6]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474661.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[7]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. Batches C013472, P013471, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batches M013471, M013472, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  7. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,399 times.