Stoke Gifford, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Stoke Gifford, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stoke Gifford, Gloucestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Clifton|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1678|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
STOKE-GIFFORD (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Clifton, Upper division of the hundred of Henbury, W. division of the county of Gloucester,4 miles (N. N. E.) from Bristol. It is situated on the road from Bristol to Gloucester. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|MARR1 = Somerset Marriages (pre-1754) (findmypast) - (£)|
|STOKE GIFFORD PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288771.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 217-220. Date accessed: 04 February 2013.
- ↑ 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
- ↑ 'Somerset Marriages (pre-1754)', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014. Described as 'Stoke St Michael.'
- This page was last modified on 4 February 2016, at 18:10.
- This page has been accessed 1,449 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News