Stoke Lane, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Stoke Lane, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stoke Lane, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitstone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Shepton Mallet PLU
Registration District Shepton Mallet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1644
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOKE-LANE, or S.-St. Michael, a parish and a sub-district in Shepton-Mallet district, Somerset. The parish lies 4 miles NE of Shepton-Mallet railway station, and has a village of its own name. There is a Wesleyan chapel. The sub-district contains 9 parishes.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stoke Lane, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Stoke Lane, Somerset Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1707-1740, 1749-1901
1704-1837
1695-1901
NBI

1622-1848


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474606.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/StokeLane/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,157 times.