Stoke upon Trent, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke upon Trent St Peter Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1629
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stoke upon Trent is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire.  Other places in the parish include: Hartshill, Hope, Botteslow, Stoke, Boothen, and Northwood.

STOKE-UPON-TRENT (St. Peter ad Vincula), a newly-enfranchised borough, market-town, and parish, forming a union of itself, in the N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 1¾ mile (E.) from Newcastle-under-Lyme, and 150 miles (N. W. by N.) from London.  In the town are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Methodists of the New Connexion. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stoke upon Trent St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
STOKE UPON TRENT PARISH (1581) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1629-1812
1629-1812
1629-1820, 1824-1867
FS 1629-1838
1629-1837

IARC 1629-1688
1629-1688
1629-1688
IARC 1734-1797
1734-1797
1734-1797
IARC 1754-1812
1754-1812
1754-1812
JOIN
1630-1812

NBI

1581-1930
PALL
1790-1812

Hartshill chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HARTSHILL CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1875-1906
1884-1906
FS 1842-1864


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1629-1956 Mar 1629-1997 Bur 1629-1955
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap Mar Bur 1679-1837 some missing for 1832

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 220-224. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013; 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,461 times.