Stone, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Stone, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone St Michael Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stone PLU
Registration District Stone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stone
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STONE (St. Michael), a market-town and parish,and the head of a union, in the N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 7 miles (N. by W.) from Stafford, and 141 (N. W. by N.)from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans of the Old and New Connexions.[1]

Other places in the parish include: Normacott, Normacot, Stallington, Stoke, Tittensor, Walton, Beech, Blurton, Burston, Darlaston, Little Acton, Kibbleston, Kibblestone with Oulton, Meaford, Moddershall, and Oulton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stone St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
STONE PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1568-1921
1567-1906

FMP 1568-1901 1568-1901 1568-1837 1568-1837
FREG 1741-1809, 1813-1819
1741-1808, 1813-1818
1741-1808, 1813-1819
FS 1813-1875
1813-1852

NBI

1558-1884

Stone St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Stone St Michael Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1837-1901 1837-1901

Oulton chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OULTON CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1878-1900
1880-1900

FMP 1880-1900 1880-1900

Cemetery Records

The following MIs were kindly contributed by Vicki Backhouse:

Some Monumental Inscriptions from St. Saviour's Churchyard located in the Aston by Stone township

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474623.

Poor Law Unions

Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 224-229. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 01:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,948 times.