Stone Christ Church, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Stone Christ Church, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stone Christ Church, Staffordshire
Stone Christ Church Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stone PLU
Registration District Stone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stone
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stone Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1840 from Stone Ancient Parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stone Christ Church was formed from part of Stone St Michael Ancient Parish in 1840

Stone Christ Church, Staffordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
Stone Christ Church, Staffordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1840-1901 1840-1901 1845-1900 1845-1900
FS 1854-1873


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1840-1970 Mar 1845-2003 Bur 1840-1959
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1840-1879 Mar none Bur 1840-1872 missing 1849-1851,1874-1875

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474623.

Poor Law Unions

Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Stone/index.html

Reference

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 971 times.