Stone County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Stone County
Guide to Stone County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents |
County Courthouse
Stone County Courthouse
PO Box 7
Wiggins, MS 39577
Phone: 601.928.5266
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate, land
and military dischrage records from 1916.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and court records. [1]
History
Parent County
1916--Stone County was created 3 April 1916 from Harrison County.
County seat: Wiggins [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Stone County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information see Mississippi Taxation.
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stone County, Mississippi page 382, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2013, at 17:42.
- This page has been accessed 1,338 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More