Storrington, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Storrington, Sussex)

[[[England Genealogy|England]] Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Storrington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Template:Infobox England JurisdictionsfckLR


Parish History

STORRINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of West Easwrith, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 8½ miles (N. E.) from Arundel. The parish is situated on the road from Petworth to Brighton. The church was rebuilt, with the exception of the chancel and north aisle, in 1746, the former edifice having become a ruin in consequence of the fall of the tower, which had been left insecure on the repair of the church in 1731.[1]

A history of the church Storrington St Mary the Virgin

The Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin Storrington has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Storrington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Other places of worship include

Cootham Mission Church Cootham Mission Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)]
Our Lady of England (Roman Catholic) which dates from 1907 Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Storrington Chapel
Trinity Methodist Church Storrington Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

list of places of worship in Horsham district Wikipedia

See also Storrington Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 229-234. here


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganisation
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Storrington, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Storrington, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1549-1901

Links to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Storrington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

Poor Law Unions

Thakeham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 229-234. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 23:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,112 times.