Stoughton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Stoughton, Sussex
Stoughton St Mary, West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westbourne and Singleton
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westbourne PLU
Registration District Westbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOUGHTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of West Bourne, hundred of Westbourne and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 8½ miles (N. W.) from Chichester. The parish is bounded on the west by the county of Southampton, and on the south by the range of lofty downs called Bowhill. The church is a cruciform structure in the early and later English styles, the chancel separated from the nave by a fine circular arch.[1]

Stoughton St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex and part of its parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbors Idsworth, Hampshire and Redhill, Hampshire

history and images

The parish church of St Mary Stoughton has been designated a grade I listed building British Listed Building

Stoughton Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Within this parish Stansted, Sussex and the chapel/St Paul's Church were formed as well as Christ Church Forest Side Christ Church Forest Side Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

Walderton Methodist Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also Stoughton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stoughton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Stoughton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1571-1876 1571-1875
PRTS 1671-1878
1675-1902
1674-1901


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stoughton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 229-234. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 770 times.