Stourton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Stourton, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Part of this parish is in Wiltshire. See also Stourton,Wiltshire.

Stourton, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mere; Norton-Ferris
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Mere PLU
Registration District Mere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

STOURTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Mere, partly in the hundred of Norton-Ferris, E. division of Somerset, but chiefly in the hundred of Mere, Hindon and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 2½ miles (W. N. W.) from Mere.[1]

Additional information:

The ancient parish of Stourton is partly in the county of Somerset and partly in the county of Wiltshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stourton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
Stourton, Somerset Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1906
1773-1906

FMP 1500s-1800s
FREG 1801-1907
1578-1932

IGI 1572-1885 {{IGI|M014432|disp=1570-1773}}
NIM 1572-1837
1570-1837
1572-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464601.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Stourton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,600 times.