Stow-on-the-Wold, GloucestershireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Stow-on-the-Wold, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Stow on the Wold PLU|
|Registration District||Stow on the Wold|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
STOW-ON-THE-WOLD (St. Edward), a markettown and parish, and the head of a union, in the Upper division of the hundred of Slaughter, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 25 miles (E. by N.) from Gloucester, and 82 (W. N. W.) from London; containing the hamlets of Donnington and Mangersbury. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Donnington registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Donnington Online Records|
Nether Swell registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Nether Swell Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288777.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Add any additional relevant sites.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 234-238. Date accessed: 04 February 2013.
- ↑ 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
- ↑ 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 20:41.
- This page has been accessed 1,140 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki