Stow Bardolph, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Stow Bardolph, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stow Bardolph, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clackclose
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Downham PLU
Registration District Downham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fincham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOW-BARDOLPH (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Downham, hundred of Clackclose, W. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (N. N. E.) from Downham. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Stow Bardolph Holy Trinity is an Ancient parish in Fincham deanery of  the Diocese of Norwich.
Non-Church of England denominations identified in Stow Bardolph include: General Baptist, Primitive Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist.

The modern parish of Stow Bardolph with Stow Bridge is part of the Fincham and Feltwell deanery in the Diocese of Ely.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Downham 1837-1974 

Church records

Stow Bardolph, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Stow Bardolph, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1880
1559-1812
1559-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1559-1758 1580-1669
JOIN
1725-1811

TIN 1813-1880

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526809 Item 4

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438850.

http://www.doun.org/transcriptions/documents.php?district_id=6&document_id=33269 online transcript 1841 census

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/StowBardolph.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Downham   For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Downham/Downham.shtml Downham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 234-238. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 November 2014, at 16:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,046 times.