Stow Bedon, NorfolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Stow Bedon, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stow Bedon, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Wayland PLU|
|Parish registers: 1722|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
STOW-BEDON (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wayland, W. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (S. E. by S.) from Watton. 
Stow Bedon St Botolph is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Stow Bedon, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Stow Bedon, Norfolk Online Parish Records|
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held Norfolk Record Office reference PD 562/1-4
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
| Baptisms 1602-1609, 1623-1630, 1666-1812 Marriages 1602-1609, 1623-1629, 1666-1811 Burials 1602-1609, 1623-1630, 1666-1811
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526739 Item 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438867.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Stow Bedon on GenUKI
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 234-238. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
- This page has been accessed 1,199 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More