Stowe, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Stowe, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stowe, Staffordshire
Stowe by Chartley St John the Baptist Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stone
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stowe by Chartley is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Great Heywood, Grindley, Drointon, Amerton, and Little Heywood. STOWE (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the S. division of the hundred of Pirehill, union, and N. division of the county, of Stafford, 7 miles ( N. E. by E.) from Stafford. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stowe by Chartley St John the Baptist Ancient parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
STOWE PARISH (1574) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1574-1867
1613-1858

NBI

1574-1837
TGEN 1613-1689
1613-1689
1613-1689

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1575-1943 Mar 1575-1837 Bur 1575-1866
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1679-1867 Mar 1679-1850 Bur 1679-1867

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by StaffordshireFreereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474623.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 234-238. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Staffordshire Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:08.
  • This page has been accessed 999 times.