Stradbroke, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Stradbroke

Parish History

STRADBROKE, or STRADBROOK, a small market town, gives the title of Earl to the Rous family, as noticed at page 402, and is a polling-place for the Eastern Division of Suffolk, pleasantly situated near the source of a rivulet, 7 miles E.S.E. of Eye, 8 miles N. by W. of Framlingham, and 9 miles N.E. by N. of Debenham. It consists chiefly of three streets, and its parish comprises 3654 acres of land, and had 1637 inhabitants in 1841, including 120 paupers in Hoxne Union Workhouse, which is situated here, as noticed at page 449. The estimated annual rental of the parish is £6963 ; and many of its houses and cottages are scattered round several small greens, which were enclosed about thirty years ago, viz., Ashfield Green, 1 1/2 mile E.; Barley Green, half a mile S.E.; Battlesey Green, 1 1/2 mile N.; Pixey Green, 1 1/2 mile N.E.; and Wootten Green, half a mile S. of the town. Stradbrook had a market every Friday, pursuant to a charter of Henry III., but it was disused more than a century ago. Of late years, a corn market has been held here every Tuesday, by the neighbouring farmers and dealers, who attend on that day at the principal inns alternately, to transact business. During spring and summer, here is a market every Monday, for the sale of calves. Here is also a fair for cattle and pedlery, on the third Monday in June, and a session or hiring for servants on the 2nd of October. Petty Sessions are held at the Queen's Head, every alternate Tuesday. The parish has sent about 200 pauper emigrants to America, since 1830. It is in two manors, viz., Stradbrook-wilh-Stubcroft, and Shelton Hall-with- Wilby........    The Baptist Chapel here was erected in 1814, and rebuilt in 1841 ; and attached to it is a school for poor girls. Here is a Book Society, established in 1836; an endowed school, and several other charities; and in 1843, the parishioners purchased a fire-engine, at the cost of £106.....[1]  View Pictures of Stradbroke Parish Church

Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Stradbroke and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Stradbroke was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.  While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.The Hoxne Poor Law Union also included the same parishes.  The Union Work House was located in Stradbroke.

Church records

Stradbroke, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Stradbroke, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1538-1754

NBI

1538-1901

The Parish Registers begin in 1538.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1538 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Stradbroke.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Stradbroke from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Stradbroke, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Stradbroke was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

The Workhouse

Stradbroke was where the Hoxne Union Workhouse was located. It was built in 1835.  Forcing people into a workhouse instead of outdoor relief caused riots in the years following it being built. In 1851 there were 314 people there.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain
    • British History Online - STRADBROOK, or Stradbroke (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 5¾ miles (E.) from Eye. Here is a place of worship for Baptists.[5]

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Stradbroke

References

  1. William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk; page 469-472
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 238-244. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,544 times.