Stratton, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Stratton, Cornwall
Stratton St Andrew .jpg
Stratton St Andrew
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stratton
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Stratton PLU
Registration District Stratton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STRATTON (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish and the head of a union, in the hundred of Stratton, E. division of Cornwall, 17½ miles (N. N. W.) from Launceston, and 223 (W. by S.) from London. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Stratton St Andrew is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Bush.
The 12th century Norman church dedicated to Saint Andrew  is listed Grade I. The church contains a brass to Sir John Arundell of Trerice, 1561.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Stratton, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Stratton, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1611-1812

COPC 1679-1913
1679-1911
1679-1937
FMP 1611-1860 1611-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1674-1812
1849-1901
FS PRs 1687-1901 1687-1906 1687-1901
IGI 1611-1633, 1679-1805
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 216

There is a typographical error in the waypoints for this collection of images and the Cornwall Record Office entry is missing one number and the waypoints await correction, Source Citiation should be for P 216.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Stratton.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241273. . Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Stratton Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Stratton in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 244-246. Date accessed: 25 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 August 2014, at 16:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,463 times.