Stratton Strawless, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Stratton Strawless, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stratton Strawless, Norfolk
St Margaret, Stratton Strawless, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STRATTON-STRAWLESS (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South-Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 4¾ miles (S. S. E.) from Aylsham. [1]


Stratton Strawless St Margaret is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich. The Grade 1 listed building dates back to the 13th century with a broad tower from 1422. The oldest feature is a Norman doorway leading to the chancel. The church is full of artifacts which include 17th century alabaster monuments dedicated to the Marsham family.

From the 13th century to the end of the 19th century Stratton Strawless hall has been the home of the Marsham family. Robert Marsham (1707–97), the phenologist was their most famous son. During his lifetime Marsham is believed to have planted two million trees on the estate. Most of the plantings were cleared for much needed timber for the First and Second World War. A few ancient trees remain, and in particular The Great Cedar ( planted in 1747 ). The current two story hall was completed in 1800, in 1960 the top story was removed. During the Second World War the hall was used as a station by the Women's Auxiliary Air Force (WAAF). Today, the hall has been converted into residential flats and part of the grounds have been turned into a caravan park

Stratton Strawless is a village and civil parish in the county of Norfolk and district of Broadland for local government purposes. Located close and to the east of the A140 road and being 4.5 miles (7.2 km) south of the market town of Aylsham and some 7 miles (11 km) north of Norwich. Much of the parish has been given over to the growing of arable crops, but there are still substantial amounts of mixed woodland to be found.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stratton Strawless, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
Stratton Strawless, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1812
1600-1901
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1562-1695, 1765-1812 Undefined 1562-1695, 1754-1836, 1838-1900 Undefined 1562-1695, 1766-1812
JOIN
1754-1836

NTA 1620-1812
1620-1901
1620-1812

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 423

Parish registers, 1562-1900 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Baptisms 1562-1695, 1765-1812 Marriages 1563-1694, 1754-1900 Burials 1564-1695, 1766-1812 Banns 1754-1767 FHL BRITISH Film 1657226 Items 37-41

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms and burials 1600-1607, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1607, 1623-1633, 1670-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526781 Item 1

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Churchwardens' accounts and rates Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.

Norfolk Record Office Reference: PD423/34.

Rates, which are taxes, are determined by property valuation, therefore church and poor rates list owners and occupiers of properties. In some cases, they are listed alphabetically by surname.

Parish chest materials which are identified in these records as chiefly churchwardens' accounts and/or vestry minutes, can contain a variety of records including accounts, minutes, lists of parish officers, church and/or poor rates, payments made to the poor, lists of charities, donors to special collections, terriers (identification of parish boundaries and properties), description of church silver or plate, copies of wills and various other records pertaining to the history and life of the parish.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 244-246. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 November 2014, at 17:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,062 times.