Streat, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Streat, Sussex
Church at Streat.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Street
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Chailey PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STREET, a parish, in the union of Chailey, hundred of Street, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 6¾ miles (N. W.) from Lewes. It is situated on the road from Lewes to Ditchelling. The church is an ancient structure of flint, containing several monuments to the Dobell family and others.[1]

Church history Streat

The Parish church in Streat Lane has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Streat Sussex Parish Clerks online (OPC)

list of places of worship in Lewes district

See also Streat Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Streat, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Streat, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1893
1881-1888

IGI 1561-1880 1562-1885

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Streat

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Genealogy

Burchall. Michael J.  A Tillinghast Genealogy.  A discussion of the Tillinghast family descending from John Tillinghast and Alice Pardon mainly two sons, Pardon, 1601 and John 1604.  Surnames mentioned are Tichborne, Batnor, Browne, Leehford and Fenner.  Article covers years 1230-1645.  Article to be found in the magazine, Sussex Family Historian, vol.1. #3, Dec. 1973. pages 51-59.  Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su.

Burchall, Michael J.  Tillinghurst Genealogy (continued).  A genealogy of the descendants of Robert Tillinghurst of Streat/Street, buried 1613, article covers years 1613-1718, Surnames mentioned are Hosmer, Hurst, Pardon, Picknoll, Waller, Tichbourne, Geere, Dalleg, Bridge, Saxby, Archer, Cox, Browne, Lechford, Butterworth and Taber.  Article in Sussex Family Historian vol. 1, #4, March 1974, pages 85-88, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su

Poor Law Unions

Chailey Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 246-250. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,113 times.