Strelley, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Strelley All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

STRELLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4½ miles (W. N. W.) from Nottingham.[1]

Additional information:

Strelley All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Broxtowe District of Nottinghamshire.

The Parish Church of All Saints has been designated as a Grade I listed building British listed building

See also Strelley Wikipedia

History of Strelley by A P Nicholson

All Saints Church Strelley Facebook page

All Saints Strelley website Parish map

Strelley, a parish (Bishop's transcripts from 1626; see FamilySearch Catalog) in Basford District, Notts.,Lincoln

[See also, Parish of Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire which was annexed with Strelley Parish in 1838.]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Strelley, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
STRELLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1654-1903 Marriages 1655-1899 Burials 1654-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1848
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Strelley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 428907.

Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,063 times.