Strete, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Strete, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Strete, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coleridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Kingsbridge PLU
Registration District Kingsbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836; For more records see Blackawton
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodleigh
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STRETE is a village and civil parish in the South Hams district of Devon, England. It lies within the South Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, about 5 miles south-west of the town of Dartmouth, at the north end of Strete Sands.[1][2]

A Gazetteer entry for Strete or Street can be found under Blauckauton.

BLACKAUTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Kingsbridge, hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (W. by N.) from Dartmouth; containing the chapelry of Street. The church contains a Norman font. An additional church has been built at Street. There is a place of worship for a congregation of Wesleyans.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241306.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia, Wikipedia-Strete Date accessed: 16 August 2013.
  2. Strete Parish Council., The official website of Strete Parish Council Date accessed: 04 NOvember 2013.
  3. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 04 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 16:24.
  • This page has been accessed 744 times.