Stretton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Stretton

Guide to Stretton, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Stretton, Cheshire
The Parish Church of St Matthew Stretton with Appleton .jpg
The Parish Church of St Matthew Stretton with Appleton
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn PLU
Registration District Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1827
Bishop's Transcripts: 1827
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Stretton has been discribed in two ways so I will give both of them both are from "A Topographical Dictionary of England":

STRETTON, a township, in the parish of Tilston, union of Great Boughton, Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 4½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Malpas.

STRETTON, a township, in the parish of Great Budworth, union of Runcorn, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, 3½ miles (S. by E.) from Warrington. The church was erected in 1827.[1]

Stretton St Michael is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1830 from chapelry in  Great Budworth, Cheshire  Ancient Parish.

Stretton is a village and civil parish in Cheshire, England not far from Warrington. The parish includes the village of Lower Stretton. It is at the very southern tip of Warrington, about seven miles south of the town centre.

There are two villages called Stretton in Cheshire, the village near Malpas lies in  Tilston, Cheshire parish

St Matthew's Church, Stretton is in the village of Stretton, Cheshire, England. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Great Budworth. Its benefice is combined with that of St Cross, Appleton Thorn.

The village of Stretton was owned by the Starkey family and it is likely that a chapel was during the 13th or 14th century. In a will dated 1527 the chapel is referred to as the Oratory of St Saviour. In Leycester's history of Cheshire it is stated that in 1666 the "ancient chapel of Stretton" was "ruinous and in decay". In 1826–27 a Commissioners' Church was built as a chapel of ease to Great Budworth.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church Records

Stretton St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Stretton St Matthew Parish (1827) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1827-1911
1835-1866

FS PR's 1827-1909
  NONE
1835-1934
  NONE
1828-1960
  NONE
FS BT'S 1827-1899   NONE
1835-1837
  NONE
1828-1899
  NONE

Parish registers for Stretton, 1827-1960 The chapelry of Stretton is in the parish of Great Budworth.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P240/1-3, P240/1/3, P240/3/2.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1827-1929; Marriages, 1835-1866. BRITISH 1656722 Items 12 - 15
Marriages, 1866-1938; Burials, 1828-1921 BRITISH 1656723 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1914-1944; Burials, 1921-1960 VAULT BRITISH 2262943 Items 3 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Stretton, 1827-1899 Chapelry (later a parish) in Great Budworth parish. Includes Appleton.
Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 191

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1827-1851, 1896-1899.  Burials, 1828-1851, 1896-1899. Marriages, 1835-1837.   BRITISH 1647671 Item 4

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Runcorn (1837–1974)
  • Warrington (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 9 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 October 2014, at 20:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,305 times.