Strood St Nicholas, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Strood, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Strood St Nicholas, Kent
Strood St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Strood St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochester City; Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford PLU
Registration District Medway; North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Strood is one of the Medway Towns in the Rochester district of Kent. See Strood Wikipedia which includes places of worship in Strood and Frindsbury.

The parish church of St Nicholas College Yard Strood has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building and refers to the church serving now as the Diocesan Architect's offices.

Other Anglican parishes included

Strood St Mary Strood St Mary Vicarage Road now New Testament Church of God. Strood St Mary Vicarage Road has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Places of worship in Strood include

St Mary's Church Frindsbury was opened by Bishop Claughton in 1869 now operated by the New Testament Church of God.
Zoar Chapel High Street Strood 1782 - Protestant dissenters.
Gospel Mission Evangelical Church, Brompton Lane
Wesleyan Methodist Jubilee Church, Stonehorse Lane (now Cliffe Road)
English Martyrs Catholic Church
St Justus Catholic Church
Darnley Road Evangelical Church
St Francis' Anglican Church

See also Strood North West Kent Family History Society


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

STROOD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, partly within the jurisdiction of the city of Rochester, and partly in the hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, ½ a mile (N. W.) from Rochester. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

North Aylesford Registration District

Strood Registration District

Strood and Hoo Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Strood St Nicholas, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[7]
Strood St Nicholas, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
1565-1837

FREG 1565-1867
1565-1852
1565-1866
FS BTs 1718-1836 1718-1836 1718-1836
FS PRs 1565-1875 1565-1873; 1754-1821 (banns) 1565-1875
IGI 1565-1875 1565-1873
MED 1565-1977 1565-1977 1565-1977

International Genealogical Index Batch Numbers

  • Christenings 1565-1875 Batches (J131321, K131321, C131322)
  • Marriages 1565-1873 Batches (M131321, M131322)

Zoar Independent Chapel High Street Strood Christenings 1779-1837 Batch (C068641)

Strood St Francis of Assisi parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Strood St Francis of Assisi Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
MED 1941-1967

Strood St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Strood St Mary Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1869-1871


MED 1869-1993 1869-1955

Land Tax

Images for Strood are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832
Strood Extra
Strood Intra

Census records

Census returns for Strood 1841-1891.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

North Aylesford Poor Law Union, Kent (renamed Strood)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-252. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:53.
  • This page has been accessed 3,235 times.