Studham, Bedfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Studham, Bedfordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Studham, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Studham, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manshead; Dacorum
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Luton
Registration District Luton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office


Parish History

STUDHAM, a parish in the district of Luton and counties of Bedford and Hertford; 4¼ miles S of Dunstable r. station. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Studham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1885


IGI 1569-1875 1570-1895


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Anglican church for this area is named St. Mary the Virgin.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyans

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288829.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Studham on GENUKI


  1. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 April 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 October 2015, at 23:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,635 times.