Sturton le Steeple, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sturton le Steeple, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Sturton le Steeple, Nottinghamshire|
Sturton le Steeple St Peter& St Paul Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1638|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
STURTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (E. N. E.) from East Retford, with the hamlet of Fenton.
Sturton le Steeple St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire which included Fenton within the extensive parish boundary which forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Knaith, Lincolnshire and Lea, Lincolnshire on the opposite bank of the River Trent.
For the connection to one of the Mayflower settlers John Robinson see Sturton le Steeple Wikipedia
The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Sturton le Steeple, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Sturton le Steeple, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Sturton le Steeple St Peter and St Paul
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1646-1983 Marriages 1654-1900 Burials 1638-1983 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1845
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sturton le Steeple
Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 01:39.
- This page has been accessed 1,544 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More