Suffolk County, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to New York go to Suffolk

Guide to Suffolk County New York and Long Island genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military, immigration and naturalization records. This page describes sources of genealogical data about Suffolk County, New York families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New York_Online_Genealogy_Records New York
Online Records


Suffolk County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Suffolk County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1683
County Seat Riverhead
Courthouse
Suffolk County Courthouse.jpg
Address 170 Federal Plaza
Central Islip, NY 11722
Suffolk County Website

Contents

Suffolk County New York Historical Facts

Parent County

1683 Suffolk County was created an original county from the East Riding of Yorkshire in the Province of New York, earlier part of New Netherland.[1] [2] [3]

Neighboring Counties

Nysuffolk.jpg

New York counties

Connecticut counties

Rhode Island county

Atlantic Ocean[4]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1664 Yorkshire became the first large government unit (not actually a county) organized by New York after the English took control from the Netherlands. It was divided into three ridings including East Riding (Suffolk County).[2] [3]
1683 New York ended Yorkshire, creating Suffolk County from part of Yorkshire.[2] [3]

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New York Counties see: New York Counties with Burned Courthouses

Suffolk County New York Genealogy Resources

Bible Records

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Transcription Project*
Cemetery Site*   NYGenWeb Cemeteries*
New York Gravestones*   epodunk*
NYGenWeb Cemeteries*   Billion Graves*
Billion Graves*   Names in Stone*
Names in Stone*    
Linkpendium*    
Ancestry*    
   *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.


Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

  • 1778 - Scott, Kenneth. "Suffolk County, Long Island, New York, 1778 Census," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 63 (1975):276-283. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 63 (1975).
  • 1778 - Kearney, Michael. "A List of Persons in Suffolk County, Long Island, Who Took the Oath of Allegiance and Peaceable Behavior Before Governor Tryon, 1778," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 142, No. 2 (Apr. 2011):98-106; Vol. 142, No. 3 (Jul. 2011):226-236; Vol. 142, No. 4 (Oct. 2011):260-264; Vol. 143, No. 1 (Jan. 2012):65-74. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 142. Includes names, ages, and occupations.
Federal

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[5]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.
State
Source 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com - - - - - - - - Yes Yes
Family History Library Films - - - - Yes - - - Yes Yes
FamilySearch Images Yes Yes Yes
New York State Library Films - - - - Yes - - - Yes Yes

New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:

  • Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
  • Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
  • Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
  • Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
  • 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
  • Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart. These can be ordered through any Family History Center.

Church Records

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

Ann Mensch's Local Catholic Church and Family History & Genealogical Research Guide is a free online resource that identifies the parishes of Suffolk County, years parishes were created, contact information, as well as links to online records and research tips. Suffolk County parishes fall under the jurisdiction of the Diocese of Rockville Centre.

  • 1828-1900 - Brown, Russell K. "Records of the Congregational Church, Orient, Long Island," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Membership Lists 1828-1869: Vol. 136, No. 3 (Jul. 2005):173-182; Membership Lists 1870-1900, Child Baptisms 1828-1900, Deaths 1851-1888: Vol. 136, No. 4 (Oct. 2005):285-295. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 136.

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Suffolk County, New York Church Records  in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

  • Rootsweb message board for Suffolk County, New York has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.

History

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Original land records in Suffolk County, New York began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].

Online

Microforms

Books

Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

  • 1698-1736 - Records of Southampton, Long Island, New York: Abstracts of Volume 2 of Deeds in Town Clerk's Office. 1915. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).

Additional resources

Additional resources for Suffolk County, New York land records may be found in the Suffolk County, New York – Land Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Migration

Military

Revolutionary War

Suffolk County men served in the 4th New York Regiment.[6]

  • Kearney, Michael. "A List of Persons in Suffolk County, Long Island, Who Took the Oath of Allegiance and Peaceable Behavior Before Governor Tryon, 1778," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 142, No. 2 (Apr. 2011):98-106; Vol. 142, No. 3 (Jul. 2011):226-236; Vol. 142, No. 4 (Oct. 2011):260-264; Vol. 143, No. 1 (Jan. 2012):65-74. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 142. Includes names, ages, and occupations.

War of 1812

Revolutionary War pension request, 1790-1837, War of 1812, 1820, 1858 1 microfilm reel; 35mm. FHL Film 1928014 Items 5-8.

Civil War

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for: Brookhaven · East Hampton · Huntington · Islip · Riverhead · Shelter Island · Smithtown · Southold.

Regiments. Service men in Suffolk County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Orange County:[7]

- 11th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company E.
- 90th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies F, I and K.
- 102nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company C.
- 119th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H.
- 127th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies D, E, G, H, I and K.
- 131st Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K.
- 132nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company A.
- 139th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A and H.
- 145th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company G.
- 155th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies D and E.
- 156th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies H and K.
- 159th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company F.
- 176th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company G.
- 179th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company F.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Indexes

The Family History Library has also acquired this comprehensive index for the years 1792 through 1906 on microfilm: FHL Film 1419807 (1st of 294 films). The courts this index covers are:

  • City Court of Brooklyn, 1836-1894
  • Kings County Court, 1806-1906
  • New York City Marine Court, 1806-1849
  • New York County Common Pleas Court, 1792-1895
  • New York County Superior Court, 1828-1895
  • New York City and County Supreme Court, 1868-1906
  • Queens County Court, 1799-1906
  • Queens County Surrogate Court, 1888-1898
  • Richmond County Court, 1869-1906
  • U.S. Circuit Court Southern District, 1846-1876
  • U.S. District Court Eastern District, (Kings, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk counties), 1865-1906
  • U.S. District Court Southern Court Southern District, (New York, Bronx and also Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Sullivan and Westchester counties), 1824-1906[8]

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Suffolk County, New York newspaper images:

  • Huntington NY Long Islander 1839-1936
  • Long Island NY Daily Star 1881-1889
  • Long Island NY Star Journal 1938-1967
  • Sag Harbor NY Corrector 1827-1911
  • Sag Harbor NY Express 1862-1975
  • Sayville NY Suffolk County News 1900-1986
  • Southold NY Long Island Traveler 1872-1895


Suffolk Historic Newspapers provides access to:

  • Corrector (Sag Harbor) 1822-1911
  • Long Island Traveler 1872-1898
  • Long Islander 1839-1974
  • Mid-Island Mail 1935-1941
  • Patchogue Advance 1926-1948
  • Port Jefferson Echo 1892-1931
  • Sag Harbor Express 1885-1898
  • South Side Signal (Babylon) 1869-1879
  • Suffolk County News (Sayville) 1882-1942,1996-2007

Obituaries

Periodicals

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Probate Records

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Suffolk County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [9] [10]

These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Suffolk County Surrogate Court.

Online Abstracts and Indexes


Probate Records on Microfilm

  • 1669–1684 Contents of session book, Riverhead, Suffolk County, Long Island, N.Y FHL Film 17903 Contains abstracts of wills, inventories, deeds, and other land records.

Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Suffolk County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:

Repositories

See also a List of New York Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
Huntington Historical Society Library
High St. & New Park Ave.
P.O. Box 506
Huntington, NY 11743
631-427-7056

Genealogical resources: A Guide to the Collections of the Resource Center and Archives is available online. Assorted genealogical collections are housed here, including church, cemetery, military, and newspaper records. A list of family files is available online. The society makes an annual research trip to the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah every spring. Further details are available online.

Suffolk County Historical Society Library
300 West Main St.
Riverhead, NY 11901
631-727-2881

Genealogical resources: Histories, genealogies, biographies, private papers, photographs, maps, cemetery records, ancestor charts, Bible records, newspapers, censuses, DAR collection.

Suffolk Cooperative Library System Genealogy resources: Maintains copies of Federal Censuses, State Censuses, New York State Records (1799-1804), and City Directories that relate to Suffolk County for use at libraries throughout the county.

Smithtown Public Library
Richard Handley Collection
East Main St.
Smithtown, NY 11787

Genealogical resources: Thousands of Long Island history and genealogy books, hundreds of maps, newspapers.

East Hampton Library
159 Main St.
East Hampton, NY 11937

Genealogical resources: Long Island Collection includes deeds, wills, genealogies, newspapers, family records and more.

Sag Harbor History Room[12]
John Jermain Memorial Library
34 West Water St.
Sag Harbor, NY 11963
631.725.0049
Genealogy resources: photographs, genealogies, local history books, newspapers (dating to 1790), births, deaths, marriages, maps, and more. Open by appointment only.
Celia M. Hastings Local History Room[13]
Patchoque-Medford Library
54-60 East Main Street
Patchogue, NY 11772
Phone: 631.654.4700 ext 240
Genealogical resources: periodicals, genealogies, maps and atlases, postcards, photographs, family files, oral history, and more.
Diocese of Rockville Centre[14]
50 North Park Ave
PO Box 9023
Rockville Centre, NY 11571
Phone: 516.678.5800
Fax: 516.764.3316
The Diocesan Archives collects and maintains records created by the parishes of the Diocese of Rockville Centre.


County Historian's Office

J. Lance Mallamo
Division of Cultural and Historical Services
Suffolk County Department of Parks
Montauk Highway
PO Box 144
West Sayville, NY 11796
Phone: 631-567-1487

Genealogical Resources: The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

Historic Services: Buildings, gardens, historical and cultural sites.

Courthouses
The Suffolk County Clerk's office has incomplete birth and death records, marriage , court and land records. The Surrogate Court has probate records. For further information about where the records for Suffolk County are held, see the Suffolk County Courthouses page. 
Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Suffolk County, New York is the Terryville New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies
Genealogy Federation of Long Island Compiles information on thirteen Genealogy Organizations located on Long Island
Suffolk County Historical Society[15]
300 West Main Street
Riverhead, NY 11901
Phone: 631.727.2881
Fax: 631.727.3467
E-mail: schsociety@optionline.net
Museum is open 12:30-4:30 Tuesday through Saturday
Library is open 12:30-4:30 Wednesday through Saturday
Genealogy resources: genealogies, biographies, town records, photographs, maps, cemetery transcriptions, Bible records, newspapers, censuses. Tables of contents for The Register are available for free online.

The Library is the repository of the holdings of the National Society of the Daughters of the Revolution of 1776.
The Computer Genealogy Society of Long Island[16]
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
160 Washington Ave.
Plainview, NY
Phone: 516.921.0841
E-mail: walterjvk@gmail.com
Society meets the 4th Thursday (Sep-Jun) at 7:30 PM at the Family History Center in Plainview, New York
Germany Genealogy Group[17]
PO Box 1004
Kings Park, NY 11754
E-mail: GermanGenealogy@optonline.net
Monthly Meetings held at
Hicksville VFW Hall - Post 3211
320 S Broadway (Route 107)
Hicksville, BY 11801
Jewish Genealogy Society of Long Island[18]
37 Westcliff Drive
Dix Hills, NY 11746
E-mail: info@jgsli.org
Hold a Monthly Meeting.
Patchogue-Medford Library Genealogy Research Group[19]
54-60 East Main Street
Patchogue, NY 11772
Phone: 631-654-4700 ext. 231
Holds Monthly Meetings.
Genealogy Workshop of the Huntington Historical Society[20]
209 Main St.
Huntington, NY 11743
Phone: 631.427.7045
Holds Monthly Meetings and makes an annual research trip to Salt Lake City.
Longwood Genealogy Group[21]
Community Room
Longwood Public Library
800 Middle Country Road
Middle Island, NY
Meetings held the 2nd Saturday of the month.

Social Groups Online

Taxation

  • 1798 - Smith, Edward H.L. "1798 Property Valuations for Western Suffolk County," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 127, No. 1 (Jan. 1996):12-16. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 127.

Town Records

Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.


Vital Records

Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.

Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.

Birth

Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.

  • 1847–1849 Suffolk County, New York, Return of County Clerks' Records of Births, Marriages, Deaths FHL Film 1927888 Item 2. Microfilm of town records returned to county clerk's office, Riverhead, New York. Includes towns of Brookhaven, East Hampton, Huntington, Islip, Riverhead, Shelter Island, Smithtown, Southampton, Southold.

Birth Substitutes

  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Suffolk County, New York clerk starting in 1847 and go until 1935.[22]

  • 1847–1849 Suffolk County, New York, Return of County Clerks' Records of Births, Marriages, Deaths FHL Film 1927888 Item 2. Microfilm of town records returned to county clerk's office, Riverhead, New York. Includes towns of Brookhaven, East Hampton, Huntington, Islip, Riverhead, Shelter Island, Smithtown, Southampton, Southold.

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1696-1811 Salmon, William. The Salmon Records: A Private Register of Marriages and Deaths of the Residents of the Town of Southold, Suffolk County, N.Y., and of Persons More or Less Closely Associated with that Place: 1696-1811. New York: New York Genealogical and Biographical Society, 1918. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
  • 1804–1850 Fred Q. Bowman, 8000 More Vital Records of Eastern New York State, 1804-1850 (Rhinebeck, New York: Kinship Books, 1991). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.7 V2bfqa. Abstracts of newspaper marriage and death columns.
  • 1804-1809 King, Rufus. "Long Island (N.Y.) Marriages and Deaths, From the Suffolk Gazette," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Marriages 1804-1807: Vol. 24, No. 2 (Apr. 1893):86-88; Marriages 1807-1808: Vol. 24, No. 4 (Oct. 1893):159-161; Marriages 1808-1809: Vol. 25, No. 1 (Jan. 1894):6-8; Marriages 1809, Deaths 1804-1806: Vol. 25, No. 2 (Apr. 1894):89-92; Deaths 1806-1807: Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jul. 1894):137-139; Deaths 1808-1809: Vol. 25, No. 4 (Oct. 1894):161-164. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 24-25. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 24 and Vol. 25 - free.
  • 1839-1864 Stevens, Marian F. An Index to the Long Islander, 1839-1864, Marriages-Deaths. Huntington, N.Y.: Huntington American Revolution Bicentennial Committee Huntington Historical Society, 1974. FHL Book 974.721 B32s.
  • 1864-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5.
  • 1871-1891 Barber, Gertrude A. Marriages of Suffolk County, N.Y.: Taken from the "Republican Watchman," A Newspaper Published at Greenport, N.Y. 1950. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Divorce

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.

Death

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.

  • 1847–1849 Suffolk County, New York, Return of County Clerks' Records of Births, Marriages, Deaths FHL Film 1927888 Item 2. Microfilm of town records returned to county clerk's office, Riverhead, New York. Includes towns of Brookhaven, East Hampton, Huntington, Islip, Riverhead, Shelter Island, Smithtown, Southampton, Southold.

Death Substitutes

  • 1696-1811 Salmon, William. The Salmon Records: A Private Register of Marriages and Deaths of the Residents of the Town of Southold, Suffolk County, N.Y., and of Persons More or Less Closely Associated with that Place: 1696-1811. New York: New York Genealogical and Biographical Society, 1918. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1804–1850 Fred Q. Bowman, 8000 More Vital Records of Eastern New York State, 1804-1850 (Rhinebeck, New York: Kinship Books, 1991). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.7 V2bfqa. Abstracts of newspaper marriage and death columns.
  • 1839-1864 Stevens, Marian F. An Index to the Long Islander, 1839-1864, Marriages-Deaths. Huntington, New York : Huntington American Revolution Bicentennial Committee Huntington Historical Society, 1974. FHL Book 974.721 B32s.
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
  • 1859-1900 Barber, Gertrude A. Deaths Taken from "The Republican Watchman": A Newspaper Published Every Saturday Morning at Greenport, Suffolk County, N.Y., Covering Death Records for the Whole County / Copied and Compiled from the Original Newspapers by Gertrude A. Barber. 5 vols. 1991. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.
  • 1864-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Suffolk County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Suffolk– Vital Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Voting Registers

Suffolk County New York Genealogy Websites

Suffolk County New York Places

Suffolk County New York Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 492. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Kathryn Ford Thorne, New York Atlas of Historical County Boundaries (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1993), 181. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 E7t.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Wikipedia contributors, "York Shire (Province of New York)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_Shire_(Province_of_New_York) (accessed 7 January 2012).
  4. Handybook, 478.
  5. Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  6. "4th New York Regiment," Valley Forge Legacy, http://valleyforgemusterroll.org/regiments/ny4.asp, accessed 31 May 2012.
  7. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  8. FamilySearch Catalog, FamilySearch, accessed 6 December 2011, http://www.familysearch.org.
  9. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  10. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
  11. About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
  12. John Jermain Memorial Library at http://johnjermain.org/historyroom.html (accessed 14 December 2011).
  13. Patchogue-Medford Library at http://www.pmlib.com/local (accessed 14 December 2011).
  14. The Diocese of Rockville Center at http://www.drvc.org/department-listing/contact-us.html (accessed 14 December 2011).
  15. Suffolk County Historical Society at http://suffolkcountyhistoricalsociety.org/ (accessed 14 December 2011).
  16. Computer Genealogy Society of Long Island at http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~cgsli/meetings.html (accessed 14 December 2011).
  17. Contact Us at http://www.germangenealogygroup.com/contactus.stm (accessed 14 December 2011).
  18. Welcome to JGS-Long Island at http://www.jewishgen.org/jgsli/contact.html (accessed 14 December 2011).
  19. Patchogue-Medford Library Genealogy Research Group at http://www.pmlib.com/gengroup (accessed 14 December 2011).
  20. Genealogy Workshop of the Huntingdon Historical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nygwhhs/ (accessed 14 December 2011).
  21. Longwood Genealogy Group at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nygglshp/ (accessed 14 December 2011).
  22. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488-493. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 October 2014, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 24,213 times.