Suffolk Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parish

Contents

History

Suffolk Parish has served Nansemond County, Virginia.

Founded

Resources

Parish History

Rev. John B. Dunn's history of Suffolk Parish, Nansemond County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[2]

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Vestry Books

The original Suffolk Parish Vestry Books (1749-1784, 1825-1856) are kept at the Library of Virginia. Abstracts:

  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Suffolk Parish Vestry Book, 1749-1784, Nansemond County, Virginia, and Newport Parish Vestry Book, 1724-1772, Isle of Wight County, Virginia. Richmond, Va.: W.L. Hopkins, 1988. Available at FHL.

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 230-239.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,738 times.