Sugley, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Sugley, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sugley, Northumberland
Sugley Holy Saviour Northumberland.jpg
Sugley Holy Saviour Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1887; For records see Newburn
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SUGLEY, a township, in the parish of Newburn, union, and W. division, of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 3¾ miles (W.) from Newcastle.[1]

Additional information:

Sugley was a chapelry in the Ancient parish of Newburn, Northumberland. Earlier records for Sugley will be found in the Newburn registers and transcripts.

Holy Saviour Church, Sugley, was dedicated in 1837. Designed by Benjamin Green, who also designed Dalton Church and the Theatre Royal in Newcastle. The foundation stone was laid on 24 June 1836 by Charles Bulmer. Sugley became a parish in 1887. SUGLEY, a township, in the parish of Newburn, union, and W. division, of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 3¾ miles (W.) from Newcastle. It comprises the eastern portion of the village of Lemington. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Sugley, Holy Saviour: Records of baptisms 1887-1986 and marriages 1887-1968 are available at Northumberland Collections Service

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438886.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:32.
  • This page has been accessed 734 times.