Sulhamstead Abbots, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Sulhamstead Abbots

Guide to Sulhamstead Abbots, Berkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sulhamstead Abbots, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Reading
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Bradfield PLU
Registration District Bradfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602; Separate registers exist for Grazeley beginning 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612; Separate records exist for Grazeley beginning 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SULHAMPSTEAD-ABBOTTS (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Bradfield, hundred of Reading, county of Berks, 7 miles (S. W. by W.) from Reading. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sulhamstead Abbots, Berkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (FindMyPast) - (£).[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Sulhamstead Abbots, Berkshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK
Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1602-1812 1602-1811

Grazeley registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Grazeley Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK Undefined
Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241203.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 256-261. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', FindMyPast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2014, at 21:21.
  • This page has been accessed 748 times.