Sullington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Sullington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sullington, Sussex
Sullington St Mary West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Easwrith
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Thakeham PLU
Registration District Thakeham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1555
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SULLINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of East Easwrith, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 5½ miles (W. by N.) from Steyning. The church is chiefly in the early English style, and contains several ancient monuments, on one of which is the mutilated effigy of a knight.[1]

The history of the church Sullington St Mary

The parish church of St Mary Sullington has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Sullington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

list of places of worship in the Horsham district

See also Sullington Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganisation
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Sullington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Sullington, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1626-1700

PRTS 1555-1905
1555-1900
1556-1903

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sullington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.
[1]

Poor Law Unions

Thakeham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Sullington/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 256-261. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 890 times.