Sullivan County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Sullivan County

Guide to Sullivan County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Sullivan County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 30, 1816
County Seat Sullivan
Courthouse
Address Sullivan County Courthouse
100 Courthouse Square #304
Sullivan, IN 47882
Phone: 812.268.4657
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1850*
1880*
1850
1844
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 30 December 1816 from Knox County.[1]
  • County Seat: Sullivan [2]


Neighboring Counties

Knox  • Greene  • Clay  • Vigo  • Crawford  • Clark

Pike CountyDubois CountyMartin CountyClay CountyClark CountyCrawford CountyWabash CountyLawrence CountyEdwards CountyColes CountyCumberland CountyWayne CountyJasper CountyRichland CountyEdgar CountyVigo CountyOwen CountyGreene CountyDaviess CountyKnox CountyGibson CountySullivan CountyINSullivan.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

February 1850 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Sullivan County, Indiana Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Sullivan County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

  • Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Sullivan County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sullivan County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sullivan County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Local Histories

Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812

Mexican War

  • 2nd Regiment, Company H

Civil War

Civil War service men from Sullivan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sullivan County.

Civil War Books

  • Booth, Louise. Waiting for the Moment. (Villa Park, Calif: D.R. Booth Associates, 1983.) 977.241 H2b copy 2 FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collection other library
  • "County Military History" Chapter 8 in Caperton, Neda.Index of Names in the Sullivan County Section of History of Greene and Sullivan Counties, Indiana, 1884. FamilySearch Books Online; (Indianapolis: Indiana Historical Society Library, 1972.)(page 572-587,Regiment, Companies, Name's),977.242 H2hi FHL US/CANFHL Collectionother library

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sullivan County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Sullivan County Courthouse
100 Courthouse Square #304
Sullivan, IN 47882
Phone: 812.268.4657

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1850. [3]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Sullivan County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Sullivan County Public Library

Donna K. Adams - Genealogist

Genealogy/Local History Dept.

100 S. Crowder St.

Sullivan, Indiana 47882

www.sullivan.lib.in.us

Museums
Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sullivan County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Sullivan County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Sullivan County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sullivan County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Sullivan County, Indiana Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Sullivan County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sullivan_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sullivan County, Indiana 216 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 10,594 times.