Sullivan County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Sullivan County

Guide to Sullivan County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Sullivan County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat Milan
Courthouse
Address Sullivan County Courthouse
109 N Main Street
Milan, MO 63556
Phone: 660.265.3786
Sullivan County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

Recorder Deeds has incomplete birth records 1867-1895,
marriage and land records from 1845, death records 1883-1896;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1845;
Probate Judge has probate records from 1845[1]

History

Parent County

1843--Sullivan County was created 17 February 1843 from Linn County. County seat: Milan [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adair  • Grundy  • Linn  • Macon  • Mercer  • Putnam

Sullivan CountyGrundy CountyHarrison CountyDaviess CountySchuyler CountyLinn CountyAdair CountyMacon CountyLivingston CountyKnox CountyShelby CountyMercer CountyVan Buren CountyDecatur CountyWayne CountyAppanoose CountyDavis CountyPutnam CountyScotland CountyMOSullivan.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Sullivan County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Milan

  • 1870-1872 - Milan Catholic Church Baptism Index 1870-1872. Batch C511541 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1871 - Milan Catholic Church Marriage Index 1871. Batch M511541 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Pennville

  • 1872 - Milan Catholic Church Marriage Index 1872. Batch M511721 at FamilySearch - free.free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sullivan County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Missouri Digital Heritage

  • 1795 - The area now known as Sullivan County was claimed by the Missouris.
  • 1836 - The first white settlers came to the county.
  • 1842 - Settlements now existed along all the streams of the northern part of the County. These settlements were grouped according to the localities of the immigrants.
  • 1845 February 14 - Sullivan County was founded.
  • 1845 May 6 - Sullivan County was divided into townships.
  • 1849 - The Chariton Land Disrtrict was established.

Maps

Mosullivan.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
:- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
:- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
:- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company A
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company B
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company C
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company D
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company E
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company F
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company G
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company H
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company I
:- 66th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company K

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sullivan County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883 - Sullivan County Death Index 1883. Batch B514627 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Sullivan County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Sullivan County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Sullivan County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Sullivan County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Sullivan County, MO Genealogy Forum

Wills

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sullivan County, Missouri. Page 406 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 17:35.
  • This page has been accessed 5,855 times.