Sutton St George, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sulton St George, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Sutton St George

Guide to Sutton St George, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and newly-enfranchised borough, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the North division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.

The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships of Hurdsfield,Kettleshulme, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. St. George's church, in Sutton, was erected as a dissenters' place of worship, the same township contains a church dedicated to St. James.[1]

John Marius Wilson discribed it in this way:

SUTTON, a township, two chapelries, and a sub-district, in Prestbury parish, Macclesfield district, Cheshire. The township is partly in Macclesfield borough; extends 4 miles SSE of M. town; and contains a suburb of that town, and the village of Langley. The chapelries are St. George and St. James; and were constituted, the former in 1835, the latter in 1860. St. George's church is in Macclesfield, and was originally a dissenting chapel.[2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241241.

Church records

Sutton St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Sutton St George Parish (1823) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1823-1909
  NONE
1835-1934
  NONE
1834-1937
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Sutton St George Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office call no.: P208/1, 4; P208/2/1-4; P208/5876/1-12, 16.

Parish registers for St. George's Church, Sutton, Cheshire, 1823-1949,(Sutton near Macclesfield) Film
Baptisms, 1823-1881. Copy baptisms, 1830-1832. Marriages, 1835-1847.
2106606 Items 4 - 7
Marriages, 1847-1883.
2106607 Items 1 - 3
Baptisms, Mar. 1881-July 1944. Marriages, Sep. 1883-Aug. 1936.
2197743
Marriages, Aug. 1936-Aug. 1949. Burials, 1834-1937.
2197774 Items 1 - 3

Chapelry of St. George (Sutton, Cheshire) parish records: Cheshire Record Office no.: P208/3/1-2.

Banns for the chapelry of St. George, Macclesfield, 1835-1861 Film
Banns for the chapelry of St. George, Macclesfield, 1835-1861
1656602 Items 1-2

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Non-Conformist records:

Church records for the Brunswick Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bridge Street, Sutton, 1824-1966
 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registersCheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 9/1, EMS 9/2/1-8, EMS 9/3.

Church records for the Brunswick Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Bridge Street, Sutton, 1824-1966 Film
Births, baptisms and burials, 1824-1837.
20053 Items 2 - 3
Baptisms, 1837-1966. Marriages, 1861-1954. Burials, 1845-1916, 1927-1931, 1943-1947, 1959.
2299525 Items 10 - 19

Church records for the Bourne Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sutton (near Macclesfield), 1906-1960: Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 8/1, 5.

Church records for the Bourne Primitive Methodist Chapel, Sutton (near Macclesfield), 1906-1960
Film
Baptisms, 1919-1959. Marriages, 1906-1960.
2299525 Items 8 - 9

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Poor Law

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Accessed 29 March 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,226 times.