Summit County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Summit County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Coordinates: 41.13°0′N 81.53°0′W / 41.13°N 81.53°W| Summit County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| Location in the state of Ohio | |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Summit County Courthouse 209 S High St. Akron, Ohio 44308 Summit County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Medina, Portage, and Stark Counties in 1840.
- County Seat: Akron
- Neighboring Counties: Summit County, Ohio residents may also have records in [1]Cuyahoga (north) · Stark (south) · Medina (west) · Geauga (northeast) · Wayne (southwest) · Portage (east)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Summit County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Summit County, Ohio Cemeteries
- Summit County Cemeteries
- Bath Township Cemeteries
- Find A Grave (126) listed for Summit County
- Forest Grove Cemetery
- Hudson Ohio Cemeteries
- Maple Lawn Cemetery in Stow, Ohio
- Mount Peace Cemetery, Akron, Ohio
- Northampton Harrington Cemetery Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
- O'Brien Cemetery Hudson, Ohio
- Ohio Gravestones
- Ohio Tombstone Photo Project
- Stow Cemetery, Stow BillionGraves
- Summit County Cemeteries
- (Epodunk) Summit County Cemeteries
- The Political Graveyard
- The Tombstone Transcription Project
- Many cemetery records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Ohio, Summit County, Coroner Inquests, Hospital and Cemetery Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census and Directories
- 1840 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850
- United States Census 1850
- U. S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 $
- United States Census, 1860
- United States Census 1860
- 1860 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1870
- United States Census 1870
- 1880 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1880
- United States Census 1880
- 1890 Veterans Schedule $
- United States Census, 1900
- United States Census 1900
- 1910 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1920
- 1930 United States Federal Census $
- U. S. City Directories for Akron 1889-1899, 1938-1939 $
- U. S. City Directories for Akron; Barberton, Cuyahoga Falls, 1938-1939 $
- U. S. City Directories in Akron, Portage Lake; Barberton: 1941 $
- Historic Akron City Directories
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
- LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Akron
- Tallmadge Church (dedicated in 1825)
- Barberton Churches
- Churches near Summit County, Ohio
- Summit County Ohio Churches
Court Records
- The Records Project, Summit County Public Record Information Online
- Summit County, Ohio Free Public Records Directory
- Many court records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see [[Many court records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many guardianship records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
Gazetteers
Genealogy
Summit County Ohio has a great chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
History
Local histories are available for Summit County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
- The Formation of Summit County, Ohio
- Historical Collections of Ohio by Henry Howe Vol. II 1888
- Fifty Yeas and Over of Akron and Summit County
- Summit County History and Information
- Akron Women's History
- Cuyahoga Falls History
- Discover the Heritage of Summit County, Ohio
- Centennial History of Summit County, Ohio and Representative Citizens (1908)
- Summit Co., Ohio Biographies
- Summit County, Ohio Biography (WorldCat)
- History of Summit County, With an outline sketch of Ohio, 1881
- Summit County, Ohio (WikipediA)
- Histories of Specific Towns and Townships
- Many histories records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Summit County, Ohio, Land Patents
- Land Patent Search
- U. S. General Land Office Records, 1797-1907, Ohio, Summit $
- Many land records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Maps
- Summit County Map 1856
- 1872 Topographical Atlas
- Combination Atlas Map of Summit County, 1874
- Summit and Surrounding County Map
- Akron
- 1895 Map of Summit County, Ohio
- Atlas and Industrial Geography of Summit County, 1910
- Akron Plat Map, 1915
- Plat Book of Akron, 1921
- Many maps for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see [[Many maps for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
Revolutionary War
- Soldiers of the American Revolution, buried in or said to be buried in Summit County, Ohio
Civil War
- Civil War Pension Index Cards
- http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/summit/military/civil/burials.htm Civil War Soldiers Buried in Summit County]
- Civil War (scanned documents, photos)
- List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 in Summit County
- Civil War service men from Summit County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Summit County.
- 1st Regiment, Ohio Light Artillery, Battery D
- 104th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company H
- 107th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company I
World War I
World War II
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $
- U. S. World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 $
- States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942
- World War II Casualties
- Soldiers buried in Unmarked Graves in Summit County
Naturalization and Citizenship
- The Summit County Clerk of Courts has placed online an index and actual images of 1850 - 1991 Naturalization Records
- Many naturalization and citizenship records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Newspapers
Summit County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- Summit County, Ohio Newspapers
- Obituares Akron Beacon Journal (only 1 year of past obituaries held online)
- Aurora Advocate
- Bedford Times-Register
- Cuyahoga Falls News-Press
- Gateway News
- Hudson Hub Times
- Mapel Heights Press
- The News Leader
- The Record Courier
- Stow Sentry
- The Tallmadge Express
- Twinsburg Bulletin
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Summit County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Summit County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [2] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- Many probate records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Summit County Courthouse
53 University Avenue
Akron, OH 44301
Phone: 330.643.2900
County Recorder has land records from 1840
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and
probate records[3]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Special Collections
Summit Memory
Digital Library
Museums
Societies
- Summit County Chapter Ohio Genealogical Society
- The Genealogical History of Richfield, Summit County, Ohio
- The Historical Society of Olde Northfield
- Peninsula Library & Historical Society
- Hudson Genealogical Study Group
- Hudson Library & Historical Society
- Akron Canton and Youngstown Railroad Historical Society
- Libraries, Museums, Archives
- Richfield Historical Society Summit County, Ohio
Schools
Taxation
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.
- Many tax records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Summit County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
- Death Records (1938-Current)
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2002 $
- 'Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- Many vital records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Records and Research Facilities Summit County, Ohio
- UsGenWeb
- Genealogy Trails, Summit County, Ohio
- Cindy's List for Summit County, Ohio
- Histopolis Collaborative Genealogy and History
Places
Cities
|
|
Townships
|
|
Historical Townships
|
|
Unincorporated Communities
|
|
Neighboring Counties
References
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Summit County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Summit_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Summit County, Ohio. Page 546 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 19:52.
- This page has been accessed 4,049 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

