Sumter County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Sumter County
Guide to Sumter County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Sumter County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 18, 1832 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Livingston |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Sumter County Courthouse Washington Street Livingston, AL 35470 Phone: (205) 652-2291 Sumter County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has a few birth records from 1888-1918
marriage and probate record from 1833,
land records and historical voters maps [1]
History
Parent County
1832--Sumter County was created 18 December 1832 from the Choctaw Cession of 1830.
County seat: Livingston [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1901 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
- Choctaw
- Greene
- Kemper County, Mississippi
- Lauderdale County, Mississippi
- Marengo
- Noxubee County, Mississippi
- Pickens
Resources
African American
- 1867-1895 - Sumter County Colored Marriage Books 2-7 Index 1867-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Cemeteries
BillionGraves
- Brewersville Cemetery, Belmont
- Brown Cemetery, Livingston
- Henagan Cemetery, Livingston
- Lee Cemetery, Epes
- Livingston Memorial Gardens, Livingston
- Maye Cemetery, Livingston
- Myrtlewood Cemetery, Livingston
- New Prospect Cemetery, Livingston
- Odd Fellows Cemetery, Gainesville
- Old Cemetery, Gainesville
- Old Cemetery of African and American Minorities of African Descent, Boliger
- Roy Cemetery, Epes
- Shady Grove Cemetery, Livingston
Additional Sumter County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1840 | 29,937 | ||
| 1850 | 22,250 | −25.7% | |
| 1860 | 24,035 | 8.0% | |
| 1870 | 24,109 | 0.3% | |
| 1880 | 28,728 | 19.2% | |
| 1890 | 29,574 | 2.9% | |
| 1900 | 32,710 | 10.6% | |
| 1910 | 28,699 | −12.3% | |
| 1920 | 25,569 | −10.9% | |
| 1930 | 26,929 | 5.3% | |
| 1940 | 27,321 | 1.5% | |
| 1950 | 23,610 | −13.6% | |
| 1960 | 20,041 | −15.1% | |
| 1970 | 16,974 | −15.3% | |
| 1980 | 16,908 | −0.4% | |
| 1990 | 16,174 | −4.3% | |
| 2000 | 14,798 | −8.5% | |
| 2010 | 13,763 | −7.0% | |
Church Records
Court Records
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Alabama, Sumter County Circuit Court Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Sumter County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Sumter County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.141 E7b.
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Sumter County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Sumter County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Sumter County.
- - 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- - 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Cahaba Rifles"
- - 36th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- - 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and C
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Probate Records
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Sumter County is in District 2.
Vital Records
Birth
- 1913-1919 - Sumter County Marriage Index 1913-1919 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- Dec 1916–May 1918 - Index for White Birth Records in the Alabama State Archives found at ALGenWeb - free.
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1833-1895 - Sumter County Marriage Books 1-6 Index 1833-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1833-1838, 1847-1901, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1833-1838, 1847-1901, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1847-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1847-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. - free
- 1913-1918 - Sumter County Death Index 1913-1918 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- Sumter County Deaths at ALGenWeb - free
Societies and Libraries
Societies
Sumter County Historical Society
p.o. Box 213
Livingston, Alabama 35470
Libraries
Hightower Memorial Library
630 Ave. A
York, Alabama 36925
Telephone: 205-392-2004
Ruby Pickens Tartt Public Library
201 Monroe St.
Livingston, Alabama 35470
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Sumter County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Sumter County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sumter County p. 39. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 00:10.
- This page has been accessed 2,113 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

