Sunflower County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Sunflower County
Guide to Sunflower County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents |
County Courthouse
Sunflower County Courthouse
200 Main St; PO Box 988
Indianola, MS 38751-
Phone: 662.887.4703
Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce,
probate, court and land records from from 1871. [1]
History
Parent County
1844--Sunflower County was created 15 February 1844 from Bolivar and Washington Counties.
County seat: Indianola [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1870--Some records were lost.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Sunflower County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
- 1845 - 1845 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1853 - 1853 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1866 - 1866 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1880 - 1880 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
- Civil War service men from Sunflower County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sunflower County.
- - 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company B - Sunflower Dispersers
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1842-1898 - County Tax Rolls, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Vital Records
Marriage
- 1844-1913 - Sunflower County Marriage Books 1-6, 14-15, SL-S11, W Index 1844-1913 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sunflower County, Mississippi page 382, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2013, at 17:42.
- This page has been accessed 1,463 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More