Surrey Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Parish Registers

Images of Surrey's parish registers are available online at Ancestry.

Baptisms

101,080 Surrey entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

The majority of Surrey's parishes (except some Metropolitan parishes) are indexed in Surrey Marriage Index 1500-1846 (£).[2]

47% of Surrey's parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Southwark and Bermondsey were popular places to get married.[3]

16,765 Surrey entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[4]

Burials

Burials from 183 Surrey places (432,867 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[5]

Marriage Licences

  • 1673-1770 - Allegations for Marriage Licences Issued by the Commissary Court of Surrey Between 1673-1770 (1907). Digitised by FamilySearch Books Online - free.

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'About Surrey Marriage Index 1500-1846,' Origins.net, accessed 2 September 2013.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  4. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,240 times.