Sussex County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Virginia go to Sussex County

Guide to Sussex County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records


Sussex County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Sussex County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Sussex County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1754
County Seat Sussex
Courthouse

Contents

Sussex County, Virginia Courthouse

Sussex County Courthouse, Sussex, Va.
 

Sussex County Courthouse
P.O. Box 1337
15088 Courthouse Road
Route 735
Sussex, VA 23884
Phone: 434-246-1012

Clerk Circuit Court has birth, marriage,
probate, court and land records from 1754[1]

Beginning Dates for Sussex County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1754 1853 1810 1754 1754

Sussex County, Virginia History

Sussex County, Virginia takes its name from the English county of Sussex.

Sussex County, Virginia was formed as the result of a law passed by the Virginia General Assembly in November, 1753. This created Sussex County from southwestern Surry County in 1754.

The county is named after the English county of Sussex.[2]

Sussex County, Virginia's county seat is Sussex, where county records were kept in the Dillard House, which was built in 1802, until a courthouse could be erected.

Early in its history, Sussex County was a part of the Anglican parish known as Albemarle Parish.

Parent County

1754--Sussex County was created 1754, as the result of a 1753 legislative act, from Surry County.
County seat: Sussex [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
    Fire.png

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Sussex County, Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Jarratt
  • Stony Creek
  • Wakefield
  • Waverly

Neighboring Counties

Sussex County, Virginia Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Sussex County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):127-129. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).

African American

  • Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
  • Deeds of Emancipation, Sussex County, Virginia, USGenWeb Archives
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Sussex County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Johnson, Martha C. Black Families of Elizabeth City Co., VA, 1800-1990: Research of Families of Callis, Davis, Simpson, Radcliff, Originating from Gloucester Co., Mathews Co., York and James Counties and Elizabeth Co., Hampton, Virginia. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [Includes information about the Bassette family of Sussex County, Virginia.]
  • Judkins Family Association. The Judkins Journal. [Newsletter] 16 vols. plus supplement. Available at FHL.

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Sussex County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 10,549
1800 11,062 4.9%
1810 11,362 2.7%
1820 11,884 4.6%
1830 12,720 7.0%
1840 11,229 −11.7%
1850 9,820 −12.5%
1860 10,175 3.6%
1870 7,885 −22.5%
1880 10,062 27.6%
1890 11,100 10.3%
1900 12,082 8.8%
1910 13,664 13.1%
1920 12,834 −6.1%
1930 12,100 −5.7%
1940 12,485 3.2%
1950 12,785 2.4%
1960 12,411 −2.9%
1970 11,464 −7.6%
1980 10,874 −5.1%
1990 10,248 −5.8%
2000 12,504 22.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1782 Enumeration

1840

  • Evans, June Banks. Census of 1840, Sussex County, Virginia. New Orleans, Louisiana: Bryn Ffyliaid Publications, 1990. Available at FHL.

1890 Union Veterans

Church

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. High Hills of Nottoway (1787)[3]
  2. Otterdam (by 1790)[4]
  3. Raccoon's Swamp (1772)[3][5]
  4. Sappony (by 1775)[3][6]
  5. Seacock (1787)[3]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Sussex County fell within the bounds of the Portsmouth Association.

Church of England

go to See also Albemarle Parish

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Sussex County is available online.[7]

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Births, Deaths and Sponsors, 1717 - 1778 from the Albemarle Parish Register of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore, MD: Clearfield, 1998. Available at FHL. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson, and Andrew Wilburn Hogwood. Albemarle Parish Vestry Book, 1742-1786, Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore: Clearfield, 2005.
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online
Quaker

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Stanton's Monthly Meeting (1760-1829)[8]

Friends from Sussex County, Virginia also attended the Blackwater Monthly Meeting in Surry County, Virginia.[9]

Court

Genealogy

More than 100 genealogies have been published about Sussex County families. To view a list, visit Sussex County, Virginia Genealogy.

Historic Residences

  • Stephenson, Mary A. Old Homes in Surry & Sussex. Richmond [Virginia]: Dietz Press, 1942. FHL Collection

Immigration

Land and Property

Deeds

  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Sussex County, Virginia Deed Books A-E, 1754-March 1779. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1990. Available at FHL. WorldCat link.
  • Bradley, Stephen E. The Deeds of Sussex County, Virginia, 1779-1792. [Deed Books F and G] Keysville, Virginia: S.E. Bradley, 1993. Available at FHL.
  • Deeds, Sussex County, Virginia, USGenWeb Archives

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories

  • Virginia Writers' Program, Works Projects Administration, Sussex County: A Tale of Three Centuries. Richmond: Whittet & Shepperson, 1942. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Migration

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Sussex County to other parts of the country.]

Early migration routes to and from Sussex County for European settlers included:[10]

Military

French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Westmoreland County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books (full-view). [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Sussex County, see p. 101.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Accomack County militia officers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War

Regiments. Service men in Sussex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Sussex County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment (8th Company)[11]

Additional resources:

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Sussex County on page 133.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812

Sussex County men served in the 15th Regiment.[12]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Sussex County, p. 105. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Sussex County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sussex County, Virginia:

- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate).[13]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12th Months, 1861-62) (Confederate). Company D (Jackson's Avengers) and Company H (Sussex Light Dragoons).[14]
- 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Liberty Guards).[15]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Sussex County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Sussex County, Virginia newspapers.

  • Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
  • Obituaries, Sussex County, Virginia, USGenWeb Archives

Private Papers

  • Family Bible Records of Lamb and Driver Families. MSS., Smithfield Branch of the Isle of Wight Library, Smithfield, Va. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.

Probate Records

A free index to Sussex County, Virginia wills and administrations (1754-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.

  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Sussex County, Virginia Will Books A-F, 1754-1806. Richmond, Virginia: Self-published, 1990. In FHL, 975.5565.P28. WorldCat link.
  • Will and Estate Records, Sussex County, Virginia, USGenWeb Archives

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Sussex County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Sussex County Guardianship Accounts 1754-1787
  2. Sussex County Guardianship Accounts 1789-1824

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

  • [1777] Tithables, 1777, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Jan 1985. Vol. 3 Iss. 2.
  • [1782] 1782 Sussex County, Virginia tax lists (USGenWeb Archives)
  • [1782] Personal property tax lists, 1782, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Apr 1988. Vol. 6 Iss. 2; Jul 1988. Vol. 6 Iss. 3.
  • [1782-1818] Heinegg, Paul. "Sussex County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • [1787] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Sussex County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • [1789, 1799] Indexed images of the 1789 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Sussex County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1798, 1802] Removals from militia fines, 1798-1802, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Jul 1983. Vol. 1 Iss. 4.
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Sussex County is included in Vol. 2.]

Vital Records

Indexes to Sussex County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1717-1778 - Boddie, John Bennett. Births, Deaths and Sponsors, 1717 - 1778 from the Albemarle Parish Register of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore, MD: Clearfield, 1998. FHL. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • 1853-1869 - Sussex County Birth Index 1853-1869. Batch C868686 at FamilySearch - free.[17]
Marriage
  • 1754-1853 - Sussex County Marriage Index 1754-1853. Batch M868685 at FamilySearch - free.[17]
  • 1754-1780s - Crozier, William Armstrong. Early Virginia Marriages. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1953. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Sussex County marriages 1754-1780s.
  • 1754-1810 - Knorr, Catherine Lindsay. Marriages of Sussex County, Virginia, 1754-1810. Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, 1982. WorldCat link.
  • 1850-1901 - Sussex County Marriage Index 1850-1901. Batch M868686 at FamilySearch - free.[17]
Death
  • 1717-1778 - Boddie, John Bennett. Births, Deaths and Sponsors, 1717 - 1778 from the Albemarle Parish Register of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore, MD: Clearfield, 1998. Available at FHL. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). For further information, see Albemarle Parish.
  • 1853-1869 - Sussex County Death Index 1853-1869. Batch B868686 at FamilySearch - free.[17]
  • Jones Funeral Home Obituaries (Jones Funeral Home, Stony Creek, Sussex County, Virginia)
Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.

Sussex County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Sussex County, Virginia Genealogy Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sussex County, Virginia. Page 721 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia Contributors, "Sussex County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sussex_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 442-443. Digital version at Google Books.
  4. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:492. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  5. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  6. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  8. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  9. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  10. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  11. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 72. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 204. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  13. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  14. Daniel T. Balfour, 13th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 26.
  15. Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
  16. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  17. 17.0 17.1 17.2 17.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 19:50.
  • This page has been accessed 32,835 times.